cost of living... in Hi This is Kat!

  • March 3, 2024, 4:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Now that Mark is retired I reflect on how people may or may not live within their means????
Everyone’s numbers are different.
What does it take you to live on for a year? Will you be able to comfortably retire? Will you have your finances down to where you can solely live of SS a month?

Everything we own is ours… we owe nothing on cars or homes and no credit card debt… we pay the card off every month.... but my mother’s neighbor will never be able to stop working! They rent and their rent is about what their SS is!

Our goal is to never touch our investments… maybe use the monthly interest at times?


Jodie March 03, 2024

I do know that money only lasts so long and then you have none. But if life keeps getting more expensive then there will be none left. And even getting the cost of living every year doesn't mean much. The two things that will put you in the poor house is taxes and death.

theKat Jodie ⋅ March 03, 2024

true... but if you save at a young age and invest by the time you get to 60 you could live off the interest the money makes if you save enough

Jodie theKat ⋅ March 03, 2024

true.

hannahalexandrea Jodie ⋅ April 22, 2024

Very true if you start saving when you are young then by the time you retire you'll have a good chunk in the bank. I started investing when I was 15 years old. At that time i worked at bar down the road Monday thru Friday working from 6am to 11pm.. Doing everything from gassing up the boats along the water , prepping, cooking, Then on the weekends I had my family resort. I worked that way until I graduated and went off to school. Sense I didn't have any bills, I took all my money and played the stock market. I invested most of it and paid off my schooling.
I didn't have many friends sense I worked all the time, but now those who I graduated with who liked to party, travel and spend money on expensive things such as cars, huge weddings, collage they are still paying it all off, cause they chose to not to want to work and just hang out at the beach.
I think I will be sitting pretty good when I retire! I hope.. My house , car, and I'm debt free. I have credit cards. if I can't pay for it in cash I don't need it. Good luck everyone the world is getting worst.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.