Cutlery; worth ruining a birthday for in Diary

  • Oct. 12, 2014, 3:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is how my birthday ended up:

It started off well. On Friday night Jay took me out for a nice meal and cocktails in Birmingham. Today (my actual birthday) I opened the presents he bought me; lots of roller derby clothes and a bottle of perfume, money from my parents and sister to buy some new skate wheels with, more money off Jay’s mam so I’ll buy myself something off my Amazon wish list, t-shirt from Jay’s cousin and a couple more cards. All very lovely.

This evening we went to see Dracula Untold at the cinema. It’s ok to go to the cinema outside of cheap Tuesday or Orange Wednesday (buy one get one free) because it was free; in the summer we got a stamp every time we saw one of the superhero films and got a free ticket each for collecting all the stamps.

Afterwards we went to Chiquitos for dinner; cheap and cheerful. I’ve been looking forward to it all week because they seem to have expanded their menu (I hate Mexican food normally because I hate onions and peppers, but they have lots of extra stuff on there now.) More than that, I was mainly looking forward to having churros. They’re not readily available in the UK, so when I do find them, I get mega excited because they’re the best thing ever.

So we ordered our drinks and meals, looked at the dessert menu and got excited over what we were going to have, and out the food came. But they forgot to bring cutlery. Never mind, we don’t use cutlery when eat a wrap or a burger, so I started to tuck in. Jay just sat there with a face on him. Still no cutlery. I told him he might as well start eating and he swore at me. Still no cutlery, I told him he was just cutting off his nose to spite his face as his food was just going cold. Still no cutlery.

He told me we should leave. I said I was going to eat my meal because I’d been looking forward to it all week and that he should go up and ask someone. He said he shouldn’t have to ask. Still no cutlery. He said come on, let’s go. I said no, I’m eating my dinner. He said we’ll get Chinese on the way home. I said I didn’t want Chinese, I’m halfway through my Chiquitos meal. He sighed and shouted “Fine, I’ll fucking walk home then!” and stormed out.

I think he expected me to run after him and feel sorry for him because he had to walk home. But I didn’t. I finished my meal and paid the bill. The whole bill, including his drink and food. I was really careful to order one of the cheapest things on the menu because I’m not earning very much. He ordered one of the most expensive things and then stormed out without touching it, leaving me to finish my birthday meal on my own and pay the entire bill on my own.

When I finished and drove home, he was just getting in with a Chinese. He started shouting at me as if the entire thing was my fault. I thanked him for ruining my birthday and he replied “Well you should have fucking well come with me then shouldn’t you!” Oh really, I asked him “Since when have I done what you’ve told me?” and he told me to fuck off again. So I told him I wasn’t going to sit there and listen to him talk to me like that, so I’m in bed at 8pm.

Just because he decides to have a hissy fit over some bloody cutlery, and because I didn’t follow him when he stormed out like some simpering little bitch, then it’s my fault my birthday got ruined. Talk about making a mountain out of a molehill. He knows I don’t have any friends here, because I had to leave them all behind when I moved here to be with him, because he decided that he didn’t want to move away from his friends to come and live with me. So he knows that I’m on my own apart from him. And he accepted that when I moved here. But he doesn’t seem to give a shit. He has no idea what it’s like to have no friends. And then to storm out and leave me to eat my birthday meal on my own and pay the entire bill.

Really. Thanks for that.

Self pity rant over.


Last updated October 13, 2014


history of love October 12, 2014

-hug- that's bad to do at any time but on your birthday is a million times worse! Good for you for staying. Chiquitos is one of the places I feel comfortable eating on my own. It is difficult to make friends when you're an adult.

wintergrey October 12, 2014

Typical men! The throw their frilly panties out of their prams for the silliest stuff! Mine has a talent for that, too... Sorry to hear he's tried to ruin your birthday.

Bomb Shell wintergrey ⋅ October 13, 2014

Huh, glad it's not just mine that does it...

puffin October 12, 2014

Oh god! Hope he realises what a plonker he's been!! I'd have burst into tears, you're a better woman than me for standing your ground. Well done.

Happy birthday!! I'm sorry he spoiled it. xx

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ October 13, 2014

I did when I got home, but I didn't want to make a scene in the restaurant so held my composure. No way was I going to follow him out just because he had a tantrum, it's best just to leave him to it.

Thank you :o)

Bumbly October 12, 2014

Wow. Sending hugs!

Hypnotica October 12, 2014

I would punch him in the cock. What an asshat. He better make a pretty big apology AND pay you back for dinner!

Babe In Toyland October 12, 2014

Dear God. What a dickhead. Gr, I'm angry now!

Tuesday's Child October 13, 2014

What a prat. I'm sorry he ruined the end of your day :(

Lucretia October 18, 2014

Well that's a dickhead move and a half!

I'm guessing this isn't normal Jay behaviour? If it's not then I would suggest that there's something else bothering him. Nobody gets upset about cutlery, it's unreasonable in the extreme, so there's other elements at work here. I hope you can get to the bottom of it.

I'm sorry he ruined your birthday (Adam did that to me once, almost identical situation). I hope things get better x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ October 18, 2014

Nothing is normal for Jay. He's been on and off antidepressants his whole life. At the moment he's on them and you can't predict his moods from one day to the next. He was still upset about this three days later!

Vee October 18, 2014

Men are idiots at times. Good on you for letting him walk home though, one day he'll get enough fresh air and time to think to figure out what an idiot he's being. We've been to places lots of times where they've forgotten stuff and most places are very apologetic and it's not a problem, has Jay only ever had perfect service in his life?

Bomb Shell Vee ⋅ October 18, 2014

Pffft, I was in the middle of my dinner, I wasn't going to leave it just because he told me to. There's something deeper going on, I don't think it was even about the cutlery. He's had problems with depression his whole like and he has terrible mood swings.

Vee Bomb Shell ⋅ October 19, 2014

I guess the biggest problem is that he doesn't really communicate how he's feeling until he has a big blow out and by then it's affected both of you badly. Depression and low moods really suck though, I hope he find a way of managing it.
Glad the hot water bottle made a difference :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.