Visiting Istanbul, the crown on a year of rehabilitation. in My new life, a book

  • Oct. 11, 2014, 2:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I came home on Tuesdag with a bit of extra colour due to the Eastern sun.
What a difference; temperature was down from above 20 to 14 degrees with heavy showers. Yet, the sun was in my heart. Istanbul was a fantastic destination and we enjoyed our holiday very much.

We stayed in a very reasonable priced apartment in a street where also the locals lived. It is situated in the old city at walking distance from the touristic highlights: Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and many other Mosques maybe less famous but worth visiting too, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, several other markets for fish, fruit, vegetables or whatever. I didn’t mention Topkapi Palace, well known but we choose other things to visit. Then I still forget the Bosporus, that connects the Sea of Marmara to the right and (unseen) the Black Sea to the left. I like to see the ships sailing to unknown destinations. Cargo ships, very small and larger fishing boats, luxerous cruising ships, an endless number of ferries for crossing the strait to the Asian side of Istanbul or for visits to the islands in the Sea of Marmara.

That first day we went out for our meal and afterwards found a gem of tranquility.
Michael wanted to see the Blue Mosque at night; it’s illuminated. I said yes although I was a bit tired. Unfortunately I also needed the bathroom and therefore we had to go back before we were there. First we discovered a small churchyard, a space below a building. And then the minaret of a smaller mosque. Can we have a quick look son asked. That’s where we found the tea garden, next to the mosque. We stayed there for almost an hour talking quietly and watching the cats who at last felt safe enough to let us touch them. We drank tea for one Turkish Lira per cup, 35 Euro cents. And I used a Turkish toilet for the first time, with thanks for having a stoma.. ;-)

There are many posibilities for transport in the city if you don’t want to walk. We choose a cheap one. For 4 TL you can buy a token to take the tram. We’ve used it several times, once to the modern part of the city across Galata Bridge. What I liked most was our voyage sailing the Bosporus to where the Black Sea begins. The ferry stops at several locations both at the Europian and Asian side. We left at the last stop to climb to the ruins of a Byzantine fortress at the entrance of the Black Sea.


Deleted user October 11, 2014

Nice to have the sunshine, and a good time. xx

JustK Deleted user ⋅ October 13, 2014

I Elfin. I was reading your diary, and then one day you made everything private. And no way for me to leave a note. I would really appreciate it is you add me to your friends list.
...sorry Matty for using your diary for thins, just didn't know how else to contact her

Fishermanswife JustK ⋅ October 14, 2014

No problem K ;-)

JustK October 13, 2014

It sounds amazing and beautiful. I've never been to any Eastern country. I should do...

leonalia October 20, 2014

I would love to see the Blue Mosque. I have a girlfriend who went to Istanbul this year and raved about it. Take care.

Fishermanswife leonalia ⋅ October 27, 2014

Wow, long time not seen. You take care too. ;-)

jamez October 27, 2014

I know a few who have been to Turkey on holiday, those who drink to much seem not to have a good time; I expect their experience would be much the same where ever they go!

Going to Istanbul brings thought of ‘Grand Tours’ and a setting of many novels, and the names Istanbul are an adventure in history, I was thinking of Byzantium and Constantinople. But when I look it up there are so many names new to me, Lygos, Sambol and Kostantiniyye from a long list.

Your short description has set me thinking, and writing another destination on that list I keep between my eyes, alas I’m the only one who enjoys city holidays; perhaps one day I shall get there camera in hand. Do you have photographs ……..

Thank you for a grand tour in the mind …………..

Fishermanswife jamez ⋅ October 27, 2014

Yes I do. I just started to select the good ones.
However, I also need to learn how 'to do' pictures here on Prosebox.
At the moment most of my time goes to the garden as the weather is very good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.