A Party for Two! :o) !! in A New Beginning

  • Oct. 11, 2014, 6:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes the way to get precisely what one will be happy with is to snip one’s choice of experiences to fit one’s desires. So often people just look at the options and pick one, even though it is not QUITE perfect for them. They take it because it’s the best of the choices offered. It doesn’t occur to them that, just like on some multiple-choice surveys, there is also a choice called “other,” which you can checkmark and then write in your own answer.

Wendy and I haven’t had a chance to get together in AWHILE. We are both always busy! The most recent times we have seen each other, it’s been in a group setting, and we didn’t get to talk “just us two” much. Last weekend she was all-excited about going out with us sisters, and then me ‘n her coming over here for “us time,” but she ended up not getting to do that because her husband was sick and needed her. (He had a quadruple bypass last year, so when he falls ill she does take it very seriously....not like a simple case of husband-with-the-sniffles or something!)

There’s a big party at Seelie Court tonight, so I emailed her and asked if she was going. If she was, we could fit in SOME gab-time, if we found a dark corner to hide in. She wrote me back and said that even though she has two finals to study for (she is finishing her BA degree this year), she would love a get-together-for-coffee morning!! :oO !! Welllllllll.....great, but that wasn’t what I asked about....and I don’t really have a free morning! So I wrote her back and said that if she’s not going to the party, I would much rather hang out with her than go to it, anyhow. So if she has time, could I come over and we could have our own party??!! She was so tickled! So that is what we are doing tonight. Wendy lives not more than 1/4 mile from Seelie Court, so Joe can drop me off before he goes to the party, and pick me up on his way home. :o) !! We will have so much fun catching up on all of our gab!!!!! :o) !!!!!

The reason we don’t ever get any chance to talk anymore at group events is that I have somehow BURST into blossom as this very “in-demand” person over the past year or two. People are always wanting to talk with me; I know EVERYONE, and I value all of my social connections, so at a big function I’ll admit....though I do feel for Wendy and sense her aggravation over this, I am not willing to forego conversations with others in order to hole up with my best friend. Fortunately, Wendy is well-liked too, so she can and does find plenty of others to talk with.
But I still don’t ever want us to become like two ships passing in the night! A BEST FRIEND is not the easiest thing to find. I am glad we are getting together tonight! :o) !!

Everything else is goin’ great here in Bear-and-SpriteLand. Joey has his license back and we are all hoping that this temporary position he’s working for Joe’s school district becomes a permanent one. Joe’s Dad’s little house up in Maine recently sold, so we will soon be getting some money....not enough to make us wealthy, but enough so that we can do much-needed house repairs and help Joey get his car fixed up. Also enough to register both of us for the two big conferences we want to attend this coming year! :o) !!

I could write more, but it is 7:30 almost, and I bet Joe will be getting up soon. So I’m going to post this, and wish my friends here a beautiful, happy weekend!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Deleted user October 11, 2014

Friendship is to be treasured and nurtured! I'm so glad you have one nearby to share your opinions and joys with.

Ragdolls October 11, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.