FB in Everyday Things

  • Oct. 10, 2014, 10:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello friends. I will post my week 2 OCTOPHOMO entry Sunday, but I figured I would stop in and post an update real quick. This topic has been brewing in my mind for a while, and I’m just now getting around to writing about it.

A couple of weeks ago, Jasmine and a few friends decided to go on a FB hiatus due to the negativity going around. That reminds me of a conversation I had with Trey a couple of weeks ago…

Trey: yeah its been out in stores…its just sucks not being able to do anything cuz your constantly paying bills and having ZERO money left to enjoy life

Me: i know what you mean. i haven’t purchased any other games recently

Trey: well shit atleast you went to texas and myrtle beach not that long ago

Now I know how Jenny feels every time her mother-in-law questions how they’re able to afford going on trips and what-not.

It took me by surprise because I never really saw my trips as a big deal. When I went to Texas the first time, Jasmine and I had planned that months in advance. I was originally supposed to go last December, but I ended up going in January. I found the cheapest hotel I could afford, and flying to Dallas was cheaper than flying to Killeen. The price difference would even out once you factor in the cost of a rental+gas, but I was able to stay on a budget before, during, and after the trip.

As for when Jasmine came here in August, I found a great deal on a hotel for 3 days, 2 nights ($50); the hotel in Myrtle Beach was only $170 something for 3 days, 2 nights. My Nissan Sentra gets up to 38 miles a gallon, so I only spent maybe $80 in gas total. Even the plane tickets took some budgeting. All I did was purchase separate one-way tickets whenever I could, but I made sure to buy those months in advance.

I make a decent amount every week. I get $700 before taxes every week, but I’m not dumb enough to throw away each paycheck just to travel. Whenever I do travel, I make sure to find the lowest ticket prices in advance. This way, I’ll still have money for my bills and necessities.

His remark really made me think of how social media can make a person depressed or envious of what they see their friends doing. I, for one, love seeing pictures from everyone. I love seeing vacation photos, new purchases, etc. It doesn’t bother me one bit or make me wish I could go on more trips. My friends deserve it. If you’re unhappy with your life, why spend it all on FB mad at the world. Do something to change your circumstance.

I personally would never leave FB, but I am glad my job keeps me busy. I’m lucky to spend 30 minutes max on FB everyday.

Anyway, I know this entry is all over the place lol. I’m going to get ready and hit the sack lol.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.