Eureka in Life in General

  • Feb. 2, 2024, 1:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My high pitched tinnitus is finally gone.

It’s still too early to tell for sure, but it seems like maybe the high blood pressure I’ve been dealing with is to blame for my debilitating tinnitus.

My doctor had me trying HCTZ to manage my blood pressure. I thought it was working at first and stopped checking my pressure but one night when I felt particularly bad I checked it again and it was over 150/100. I started logging the pressure again twice a day and sure enough, it was consistently pretty high, not a single reading in the normal range.

I messaged my doctor and sent them the log of my recent readings and she agreed it was still too high and prescribed Norvasc.

Holy hell. The first morning I wake up and my high pitched tinnitus is gone. I still have the normal ringing I’m used to at this point, but the high pitched tinnitus was the part that was really really bothering me. I rushed into my office and took my blood pressure and sobbed the second I saw it.

119/90

It was the first normal(ish) reading I’ve ever had. My doctor did ask to keep watching the pressure and if the lower number doesn’t fall below 90 to increase the dose. But clearly the upper number being lower has had a HUGE impact on my tinnitus.

It’s been several days and my high pitched tinnitus still has not returned. I feel like I hear it a little bit at night time but my bp is usually a little higher at night so that tracks. I feel like once I get the correct dose of medication it’ll totally disappear.

I still have tinnitus though. I still hear a lower pitched hum all the time. But it’s what I’m used to and it’s super easy to ignore. Before this recent issue with tinnitus I rarely ever thought about it. Wasn’t afraid of quiet rooms. Nothing.

So basically yeah if this keeps going I’m gonna be super super happy and hopefully finally get my life back on track.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.