New profile fields in Site Updates

  • Oct. 10, 2014, 11:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve had a few requests for this and thought it would be a nice thing to add. It’s totally optional. There’s now an Edit My Profile button on your profile page. You can add the following:

  • Gender
  • Birth Date (with optional display of age)
  • About me (very brief summary of who you are)

This information will show up on your profile page if you add it. I’ve made minor formatting adjustments to better display the new stuff.

The reason for keeping the “About Me” section short (and no formatting - HTML or Markdown) is that I also want to add a little popup on pages that show your small icon, to show the enlarged icon and the information at the top of your profile (gender, age, about me) just by clicking the icon (or hovering). But I haven’t added that yet. :)

I also added the “Show age” checkbox so you can still add your birthdate but hide your age if you so wish. If at some point I add a birthday notification feature, that birth date will be useful info to have.

UPDATE:

There’s now a profile popup on the main listing page. If you click on a user’s icon, you’ll get the expanded view (larger icon and any basic info they have provided).

I’ll add it to other screens with icons as I get the chance.

Also, I did make an update to icon sizes many moons ago. If you originally uploaded a picture before this change, it will be blurry and pixellated in its larger form (just the tiny image sized up). I do recommend uploading again to truly enjoy the glory of an enlarged icon. :)


Last updated October 10, 2014


Miss Carrie B. October 10, 2014

i like this! =)

Cat Mommy October 10, 2014

Love it! Thanks!

patrisha October 10, 2014

Thanks!

Nin October 10, 2014

Pretty frigging awesome, Mister!

Deleted user October 10, 2014

Love it! :)

Starhawk October 10, 2014

Countdown until someone complains about having only binary choices for gender... 3... 2... 1...

(Not complaining here, by the way. You do great work.)

simple mind Starhawk ⋅ October 10, 2014

Actually it's a tri-state gender: "Male", "Female", and "----". The dashes cover everything that there is no icon for. :)

I need tea. October 10, 2014

You are the best.xx

Cat Mommy October 10, 2014

Shiny popup profile! Very cool!

Deleted user October 10, 2014

Nice! I take it you're not going to add a 'drafts' tab?

Leanne 🌈 October 10, 2014

Dig the popup picture thingy....

synapse October 11, 2014

What about other genders? I want mine to say "unicorn"

simple mind synapse ⋅ October 11, 2014

I'm not familiar with "unicorn" as a gender... you've got a horn down there? :D

synapse simple mind ⋅ October 11, 2014

My horn is on my head, silly! If you weren't human you could see it.

Spilledperfume October 11, 2014

I love the female figure when you choose your gender.

Etoile Filante October 12, 2014

You are truly magnificent xXx

Deleted user October 12, 2014

How about showing a person's location in that badge? State or country?

Deleted user October 13, 2014

I love this. I just added my age and that I am female on my profile. I also wrote a little bit about myself. :)

Reading_Blankie 📚 October 13, 2014

this is rad!

Deleted user October 13, 2014

Thanks for the update. It'll really be useful now and make it easier to find people my own age.

Loki October 21, 2014

  • OOOOOOOH! [rushes off to browse|update my profile]
Deleted user November 11, 2014

I like these new features. Thank you!

Loki November 26, 2014

  • I'd love to be able to add graphics in my profile fields where it says "about me". . Could that be possible any time in the future ? =^u^=
Sophy079 1 day ago

How do I put a profile picture for my account? New here and don't know, can you tell me please:')

simple mind Sophy079 ⋅ 1 day ago

It's been so long I had to look. Go to "Settings" under MISC menu.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.