october 8 in twenty-eight

Revised: 10/09/2014 9:41 a.m.

  • Oct. 8, 2014, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my last lesson with my statistics student, yeah! I’ve decided to no longer tutor statistics. I love the subject, but it’s hard to tutor students who have an attitude of, “what is the use of any of this?” You get it a lot in math, too, but actually I see it more in statistics and there’s just a lot of push back on why it matters in the least. And then the students don’t try, and then they get frustrated when they’re barely passing, or not passing at all.

M ended up with a B in the class. I’m proud of that, but it was a LOT of work. About 4-5 hours a week of tutoring. The money is nice but it is really hard to stay sane with a student like that.

So now I’m back to three students, three nights a week. Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. About 3.5-4 hours in total. That’s closer to what I prefer anyway.

Oh, and the weather today was just stunning. Perhaps the last nice day of the year, who knows? I enjoyed it.


Last updated October 09, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.