Feeling Down in Diary

  • Oct. 9, 2014, 6:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This week has been dead on the work front again. Apart from Roxy, I’ve again only had two appointments all week. Except for tomorrow when I’m going to be busy from 9:00am-3:30pm with five different dogs. Why is it all on Friday, why can’t every day be like that?

So I’ve been sitting around the house feeling more and more down as the week goes on and feeling less motivated to do anything. It’s getting really cold now but Jay says I’m only allowed to have a small oil radiator on in the living room as it’s too expensive to have the central heating on all the time, which I agree with. This small heater doesn’t really do much, so I’ve taken to ensconcing myself on the sofa, wrapped up in a blanket, reluctant to go anywhere else in the house or outside. I do not function well in the cold and it’s leading to me being highly unproductive. And it’s only going to get worse for the next few months.

All I’ve been doing all week is online advertising/ SEO work. I’ve managed to do enough SEO so that, if someone now searches for “Dog walker” or “pet sitter” and they are in my local area, then my website is the very first one that comes up on the Google maps search. This is great, I was very excited when I discovered this. But it hasn’t led to any more new customers.

Answering surveys and crocheting/ knitting in an attempt to earn a few more pennies.

I’ve applied for two more medical trials but I’m not holding my breath on those as they both probably require me to have two canulas, as with the one I was rejected from, so I won’t be able to do them.

I bit the bullet and asked 63336 if I can go back on their books (internet researchers) but they have enough people working for them at the moment. I’m not surprised, I don’t understand why anyone would pay £2.50 to ask a question over text message when most people have smart phones and can look up anything they want.

I also bit another bullet and emailed the assignment editor from my photo agency asking if they have any work for me. She also said they have enough content at the moment, but I can send them anything I do that they might find interesting. Mmmm, I can’t see this happening.
1) The only way I can get any work in the first place is by using the Wireimage name. I’ve shot One Direction, The Jacksons, Roger Waters, Motorhead, Miley Cyrus and Justin Beiber by having Wireimage back me up as an accreditor. I can’t just walk to the front of these gigs on my own and then be able to send them to Wireimage.
2) They retain the copyright of ALL images I send to them. I’m not going to the trouble of trying to sort out my own photo passes only to pass over the exclusive copyright to someone else. It was fine when they were sorting out the passes for me, but doing it myself? I won’t be able to send the photos to anyone else or sell them myself so it would be a complete waste of time.

I signed up with Alamy, a stock image agency, ages ago but I never got around to submitting any test images. I really should get around to doing this. Stock photography sounds easy for many reasons. I maintain the copyright, I can send as many or few images as I like whenever I want, I can choose the subject and it can literally be anything in the world. I really must pull my finger out to try and earn some extra money while the dog walking is staying stale over the winter. I just need to think of some interesting subjects I can shoot.

I had my first shift as a spooky actor on Saturday and I really enjoyed it. Dressing up as a vampire, standing in a dark cave surrounded by free flying bats and scaring everyone that came in. It was goth heaven! When there was no one in, I spent ages watching the bats, they were so cute. The fruit bats were really possessive over their food; one was hanging there hugging an apple peel without eating it, and another one was draping itself over a slice of melon whenever another bat went near it.

Most people enjoyed my scariness, I got lots of screams and laughs. Some people asked me questions, thankfully they were easy like what time does it close, and one boy saw the bats climbing and asked me if they were monkeys…(!) One girl said to me “I’m not scared of you because I know you’re a person.” I said to her “No I’m not, I’m a vampire!” and her MOTHER snorted and said “Yeah right!” Really, woman? I don’t expect YOU to believe I’m a vampire, it’s all just supposed to be a bit of fun!

We have to play a different character each week, though. I really enjoyed standing in the warm cave, but this weekend I might be wandering around the fairground in the cold rain.

It’s my birthday on Sunday so tomorrow night Jay is taking me out for a nice meal and drinks, as is traditional (I return the favour on his birthday). On Sunday we’re going for another meal (cheaper this time, at Chiquitos) and using our free cinema tickets to go and see Dracula Untold.

33 years old. Now I’m hurtling towards my mid-30s and there’s still no talk of weddings or babies. This upsets me greatly, I’m beginning to think they’ll never happen.


Camdengirl October 09, 2014

Get thee to a coffee shop! Okay this sounds bizarre because it seems like skiving but at least it's warm and you aren't paying for the heating... Additionally, because you are there "to work" you have a completely different mindset about actually doing stuff. Also - are there any new start networking things you can go to? Try www.findnetworkingevents.com - don't pay to join anything but just getting out there and finding out what other small businesses are doing and what works for them marketing wise might be useful.

Quick question on the Friday thing: Why Fridays? Are more people in work those days? Or do they go out to lunch with the office for wine so don't have their cars to pop back for lunchtime walkies? Worth finding out!

Well done on the SEO - that's brilliant considering how soon it is!

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ October 09, 2014

That's an excellent plan! I can warm myself up with a nice hot chocolate and getting out of the house will make me feel like I'm actually doing something, thanks!

I don't know, this Friday is just a coincidence. One customer is on holiday; her mum was looking after the dog all week but is unable to on Friday. Another customer is a couple who work different times each week, and on Friday they both happen to be at work all day so need me to pop in on the dogs. Someone else is disabled and can't walk her dogs and she just picked Friday as a random day. Weird how it all landed on the same day...

Thanks, I've been working my way through an SEO book so it just goes to show that this stuff actually works :-D

Babe In Toyland October 09, 2014

Aww, don't be glum. I don't like it. Maybe it IS the cold and darker evenings that's making you feel down. Do you take multivitamins? I understand they can help.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 09, 2014

It really is, I get it every year! I know you love the cold and things, but I hate it and it always makes me feel down. Maybe I should start taking vitamin D supplements.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 09, 2014

Yes, I do like the cold, but winter doesn't affect me mentally, so it's different. Summer doesn't either, I just hate being too hot.

Miso Honey October 09, 2014

Sorry to hear things are slow right now, hopefully stock photography works well.

Glad to hear that being a scary actor is fun. I think it would be a blast.

Hopefully wedding/babies happen. Or at least talk of them.

Bomb Shell Miso Honey ⋅ October 09, 2014

Yeah I should definitely pull my finger out and get working on those photos while I've got the time! I just need to try and think of some interesting subjects. Maybe I could dig out the Christmas decorations and get some advance Christmas photos ready.

Miso Honey Bomb Shell ⋅ October 10, 2014

Good idea, get a jump on Christmas!

~Twinkle~ October 09, 2014

Xxx

Deleted user October 09, 2014

I really hope your business picks up!! Lots of people vacation for weeks in the winter though ;)

Thats so weird. I forget your heating systems out in the UK are different from here. Our heat is free with rent as is the water and gas. We only pay for electricity and cable. Move here! Save more money :P

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ October 10, 2014

Thanks, I hope so too! :o)

We own the house so we're not renting. So on top of the mortgage, everything else is extra; heating, water, council tax, electricity, house insurance etc. And heating is EXPENSIVE. Gas (for heating) and electricity combined averages out at about £140 a month (about $225) so we have to be really careful choosing when to have it on :-/ We don't have cable either because that's expensive as well, lol. It's just too damn expensive to be alive!

Vee October 12, 2014

I know how you feel about everything being too damn expensive! If I'm at home alone and cold I tend to get the hot water bottle out, biking the kettle isn't as expensive as having the heating on and it lasts a fair bit before I have to do it again. I hate the cold too :-(
Sorry to hear that business is going a bit slow at the minute try and stay positive. I agree with other noters about going and doing things outside the house, especially things with people, because you might get talking to people who need a pet sitter or know a friend that's looking for one and three more people you meet the wider you can throw your customer net :-)

Bomb Shell Vee ⋅ October 12, 2014

Hot water bottle is a great idea. I haven't used one since I was a child so the thought never occurred to me! I'll put one on my Christmas wish list :)

You're right you know, quite a lot of my customers have been from word of mouth, I should try and exploit that a bit more :o)

Vee October 12, 2014

And I'm sorry for typos, I'm on my phone and rubbish at using the screen keyboard.

mutedexposure October 14, 2014

I lived for my electric blanket. Phil loved it cold and I was always freezing to the point of my insides shaking.
I hope your work picks up soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.