something strange is happening in keeping it postive

  • Oct. 7, 2014, 2:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Maybe because I am going outside more, but the hang-out guys on the block are greeting me each time I pass by. I love the “hey baby” when I could be their GRANDMOTHER.

Most of them know I was a teacher, so try to pick my brain… I get to answer all sorts of questions: how do I stop smoking, when did the Dominican Republic become independent and from what country, how do I get a good job?

I stand and talk with them, what the heck. I’ve known some of them the entire time I’ve lived on the block - 25 years. They were in primary school when I first moved here.


ermentrude October 07, 2014

It's always good to be known by those guys, and it sounds as though they respect you. :-) x

Darcy0207 from OD ermentrude ⋅ October 07, 2014

My neighborhood has changed DRAMATICALLY over the years. It's becoming gentrified... which is a laugh to me. I grew up two blocks away and it's always been mixed to some degree.

And yes, respect, that's the word. They look up to me because I was a TEACHER. Wow.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm October 07, 2014

well, i imagine they'd rush to your rescue if something were to happen to you. you have a number of heroes that look up to you. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ October 07, 2014

Hopefully, I'll never have to test that theory.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.