Day 4 NYC. Are you ready to rock? in One day at a time

  • Oct. 5, 2014, 8:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday. Big day today. We are up and out quite early (after our prerequisite fruit salad and spinach omelettes of course). First stop was Grand Central Station. Early morning was a perfect time to be there – not too busy and some great spots to look at the architecture. A quick stop at the Moma store where I left the girls while I went and queued for Top of the rock booking times. Then it was on to join our tour leader and a two hour walking tour of Central park. The tour leader was just “okay” it was supposed to be a movie locations tour, but he was very sketchy on some details. He was well and truly out movied by a couple of German tourists who had a way better knowledge. Still it was a good insight into the bottom half of the park and the sunshine was lovely. (also I got the tickets for 14 bucks each on a groupon so expectations weren’t too high).

There was a guitarist playing Beatles songs up at the John Lennon memorial, and he was truly awful. The two people standing next to me were discussing how much it would cost to make him stop playing… Strawberry fields was a bit disappointing to me. I get that there are no strawberries but it was just kind of an overgrown paddock (reminiscent of my back yard). Two hours later we had done a bit of a circle, and stepped out on to Park Avenue west, where (by now a pro) I hailed another cab. This time we were off the theatre district as we had got 2 for 1 (plus 1) tickets to the 3.00pm matinee of Rock of Ages.

Firstly time for a quick lunch and my first food network experience – Guy Fieri’s American kitchen. I had chicken wings. I’m sorry but they just looked better on telly. They were kind of sweet and soooo messy. It must be my British heritage, but icky poo, I prefer to use a knife and fork. The fresh lemonade was lovely though – and they got us out in time for the show. Which was awesome. Love me some 80’s rock, and this show nailed it. It’s a small theatre (by Broadway standards) and was just such a great experience. My two travelling companions aren’t really into music but even they were tapping their feet.

Post show it was a quick walk over to the Rockefeller centre, and top of the rock. I had pre-purchased the tickets at home, and after some research had secured 6.15pm lift passes – which got us to the 68th floor 20 odd minutes before sunset – perfect! Great views out over the city and central park – plus we were looking down on the Empire state building, which is why I chose that look out. Feeling on top of the world (literally).


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.