Major Update in Hello Mrs.!

  • Oct. 5, 2014, 5:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t written here in forever. I’ve been meaning to, but life has been hectic. I last wrote when my mum had her hip replacement surgery. Since then she’s recovered and has gone and gotten her other hip done about 3 weeks ago. Let me try and fill in some details since that first surgery. I think I’ll try bullets to better organize myself.
- Since March life has been pretty busy. When I wasn’t with my mum or working, Sy and I spent all of our waking hours house hunting. We would see about 10 houses on average per weekend day. Finally we found a house that was a small three bedroom, one bath and put an offer in about 13 days after it went on the market. The house is not even a quarter of a mile down the road from where our apartment was so I was very happy to be staying in my home town and the area where I grew up.
- We started packing right away, cleaning the apartment, etc. until Sy received a phone call from the lawyer that was helping him evict his tenants in his home. He told him that he stopped by the house (because they were supposed to be out) and saw the house was a complete disaster. Sy had to take a week off of work and drive the 13 hour trek back to his home and clean it up. He and his friend filled 22 huge barrels with tenant house not including their furniture. The house was flea and bed bug infested and had broken windows. I felt so bad for him, but he and his friends did a great job cleaning up.
- At the end of the week he drove home just in time for us to close on our new home, on June 20th. That weekend and week we moved and unpacked everything we could non-stop to be able to head out back on the road and make that 13 hour drive back to Ohio to do more deep cleaning and fixing. That week we stayed at a hotel and even got to spend our first night in Dayton partying it up at Sharky’s.
- We spent our one year anniversary together cleaning but luckily managed to leave on the 4th and stop through Amish Country in Miamisburg and Niagara Falls on the way home. That was our one year anniversary trip!
- The rest of the summer was spent cleaning, and re-doing rooms, buying tvs, furniture and trying to make our home ours.
-Since end of January my cousin Billy who lives in Greece but grew up in England announced that he had cancer and that he was going back to England for treatment. Each week I would call him during my lunch break to see how everything was progressing. By March he told me his tumor was inoperable and that he was just going to get treatment to help with the cancer not spread anymore. I focused on painting, cleaning, anything to just help process through it all. I knew things would not turn out in our favor and doing mundane tasks like painting a room all weekend would help me process all the anger and sadness I was feeling. I kept asking him if I could come visit and he kept telling me no.
- In early to mid August my husband sat me down one night after work and asked me to turn off the tv. He told me that his brother called him and told him that a kid had gotten a hold of him on Facebook and thought that my husband was his dad. Yep, his dad… So my husband and I found out that he has a 21 year old son. Right after high school Sy went to Alabama for college, but only stayed for a semester. During that time he hung out with a girl, decided college wasn’t his thing and left and went back to Ohio and then shortly after that went into the Navy. So weird! I am totally over it. I was only “in” it for about a day and a half, but since then Sy and his son have been talking daily and we are looking to fly him out soon to stay with us for a vacation.
- This past month in September I was working tons of weird long hours. My mum went in for her second hip and I was feeling really stressed out. I wanted to be there for her, go visit Billy and somehow meet my stepson. All during this time I wanted to quit my job. I don’t know why but this whole year I’ve been in a working rut. I don’t want to go in, I don’t want to talk to my boss…I’ve been with the company for 10 years and I don’t really know what’s going on.
- I was talking with Billy’s kids about flying to England to spend a week with Billy and I was scheduled to leave on the 18th of October. Maria, his daughter, told him that I was flying out to see him… He passed away the next day. I’m heartbroken and wish I could have seen him and helped him. I am glad he is not suffering anymore, but I’m mad at myself for waiting until the last second for making the decision to fly out there. I wish I could turn back time…


Last updated October 05, 2014


Sharee October 09, 2014

Sorry to hear about your cousin, it's always hard to know how much time someone is going to have.

Congrats on the house, sounds like you've had a crazy time lately!

spazalrina16 October 11, 2014

wow you've had a ton going on! I'm sorry about your cousin and hope you are both dealing well with the news of your husband's son. congratulations on the house and i hope your mom is doing well!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.