More on Dogs in Diary

  • Oct. 3, 2014, 10:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This week at work has been a lot quieter than the last few weeks. Apart from Roxy, I’ve only had two other appointments all week. I’ve been trying to keep busy but with the cold weather closing in now, well I get in a bad mood when I’m cold and feel less inclined to want to do things. Maybe I should start taking vitamin D supplements or something.

But I have been trying to keep busy. This week I had to turn down yet another enquiry about someone wanting me to board their dog at home. I’m losing too much money here so I really need to get the garden sorted. (I can’t keep them in the house due to Jay’s horrendous allergies) I’ve bought a fence to go around the pond; every single dog that’s been in the garden has landed in the pond almost immediately. I’ve also started converting the summer house into a kennel. Until now, all we’ve used it for is storage. So I’ve had one of the sheds emptied by giving away the old planks of wood on freecycle, and moved the stuff out of the summer house into the shed. There were some old sun loungers in there that we’ve never used so I’m going to use the cushions from them as dog beds. We still have some carpet cut offs from when we had the living room done so I’m going to get those stuck to the floor for insulation. I’m going to get it all sorted as soon as possible as I need the business!

Last month I was more than fine for money. I had one week’s wages from my last week at PRG, plus what I got from the medical testing for the time I was there, plus my wages from my dog walking; I made almost as much as I would during a month at PRG which is a great start. I even managed to pay for my car service and pop a bit into savings! I’m sure I’ll be dipping into that at the end of this month, but it’s nice while it lasts.

With my birthday next week, four birthdays to buy for in November and then Christmas, I’m going to have to be a bit frugal. I’ve been picking lavender from the garden and am going to knit some small soft toys to make lavender bags. We’ll probably have some green tomatoes leftover so I can make some green tomato chutney. I’ve already got started, buying gifts with vouchers etc. Everyone has at least ONE small gift so far so I’m pleased with how it’s going.

Here are a couple of photos of Nala the Rhodesian ridgeback who I looked after for an hour yesterday. She was delightful and didn’t even need a walk, they just wanted me to go in and play games with her in the middle of the day while they were out. She was quiet and shy to start with, as they said she would be, but she soon came out of her shell and we had a lot of fun.





I’ve been brushing up on my crocheting. I taught myself the basic stitches about two years ago and have never actually made anything. Yesterday I made a headband, complete with flower, for a baby and I’m really pleased with it. Nice even edging and consistent tension :o)

So I’ve also opened a shop on Etsy. So far it has knitted items but I’m hoping to start adding my crochet things as well. If you’re on Etsy, please add me to your favourites :o)

Abi came over last weekend to shoot the promo video that she’s making for me. It went well and we got some good interviews with my customers, I’m looking forward to seeing the finished article. She said I could start my own YouTube channel and make regular videos which is a great idea, I’ll have to see if I’ve got time.

I’ve started a blog for my business as well, trying to cover every aspect of social media (I also have a Twitter account and Facebook page). Have a look if you fancy it, let me know what you would like to see in there.

Last Saturday I went for my induction at West Midlands Safari Park and tomorrow is my first shift. I still don’t know anything about the character I’m supposed to be, no one at the induction knew what was going on! Hopefully all will be revealed tomorrow night.

Wow, reading through all this makes it sound like I’ve been really busy but I feel like I’ve hardly been doing anything.

And I’m going to leave a link to my website in all of my entries because it’s a good way to get up the Google rankings!
Michelle’s Pet Care


Last updated October 03, 2014


Babe In Toyland October 03, 2014

I was going to ask you about your spooky acting, I thought it started last week for some reason. Let me know how it goes and take a selfie for me!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 03, 2014

I had my induction last week, my first paid shift is tomorrow. Course I will, I was already planning on it :o)

Camdengirl October 03, 2014

Number 1 thing to do is to get the blog off Wordpress.com and host it yourself - it does cost a bit more but it means the traffic boosts your website rather than wordpress.com

Summerhouse idea sounds great!

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ October 03, 2014

Yeah my hosting site does offer a Wordpress thingy but I tried to do it and messed it all up, I didn't have a clue what I was doing :-/

puffin October 03, 2014

Ahh what a nice face that dog has.

i made 22 jars of red tomato chutney at work last week, still got loads more green tomatoes on the vines to make more chutney! Its so yummy xx

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ October 03, 2014

22 jars?? Well so far we've only had seven red tomatoes so I don't think there'll be enough to make red tomato chutney lol. We only have eight plants anyway. I've never made it before, I hope it turns out ok! :o)

puffin Bomb Shell ⋅ October 03, 2014

We have about ten tomato plants, it has been so bountiful this year! We grow 8 of the plants from seed as well. I had about 12kg of red tomatoes (probably another 8kg on the vines). 2kg of chopped up toms were dropped on the floor in a glass bowl, what a mess. Anyway its never been this good before, we've certainly not been able to make red chutney before. Wonder what went right?

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ October 03, 2014

I want to know what went right as well! Or more like what we're doing wrong!

~Twinkle~ October 03, 2014

Hope the spooky acting goes well xx

Lucretia October 04, 2014

Ah, home made gifts are the best! I love getting something that someone has spent time on (it's much more valuable than money).

I hate not being busy with work. My house becomes freakishly clean and I am getting increasingly obsessive now that my season's over. It's all about balance. But at least you have the gifts to work on whilst you're not rushing around.

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ October 04, 2014

I'm glad you think so, when I mentioned it to Jay he stated he absolutely does not want a home made gift. Grumpy git, he requested I knit him a beanie last year and now doesn't know where it is!

I think I'm going to have to be careful not to get into a slump when I'm quiet, it makes me feel like sitting around doing nothing. I'm going to have to make sure I keep busy because the less I have to do, the less I feel like doing things and I get into a vicious circle. So, as you say, making Christmas gifts will keep me busy in the meantime :o)

Deleted user October 05, 2014

Oh my! What a beautiful pup!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.