Day 3 NYC. Candied yams and designer bargains. in One day at a time

  • Oct. 2, 2014, 5:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today dawned fine and clear, we were so lucky with the weather. A pleasant mid 80’s I think. (hey you try having to divide in half and subtract 15 all day to work out how warm it is in Celsius). Again, loving these girly roomates. I made a fresh fruit salad (there was an awesome fruit stall down on the corner), and Gini made us spinach omelettes, will Susan laid the table. We discussed our strategies, and pretty soon we were off on the subway (heading downtown). We rejoined the hoho and did mid and up town tours. It was such a rush to see the Empire State building, central park etc etc.
It did start to spit a little towards the end of the tour (they handed out plastic ponchos). We got off in Time Square and went to the toy store there. (Susan has 2 kids a 10 year old son, and a 15 yo daughter and Gini has grandchildren). About 3.00pm the effects of breakfast had worn off and we had lunch at Ruby Tuesdays (you will notice a few chain restaurants on our journey) We had a window seat and a good spot for crazies watching. I was glad I visited Time Square but couldn’t stand all the pawing, in your face pushiness that went on there. Once was enough. Lot’s of people in character outfits. I can understand why there has been some trouble there.

Time to walk up to Lord and Taylors (love at first sight). I love the sales those big stores have. Clearance was 50% off, plus an extra “vip sale” of 20% and a 10% tax cut for out of country visitors. At home you get a lot of attitude at any kind of clearance sale, and would certainly never be permitted to combine savings. Upshot was a Michael Kors shirt for $14.00!!! I was so excited. (still am really, just waiting for the right occasion to unleash it).
After a very pleasant couple of hours there, we got back on the subway and had dinner at Sylvias Soul food in Harlem. Best fried chicken e.v.a.h. We had a choice of sides and Susan ordered Candied Yams. Bit of an acquired taste I think. Not nasty, but seemed weirdly sweet.

Next CB moment came (honestly it is like I have been training for this my whole life), was when I stepped out and hailed a cab. Rockstar moment, (well my fellow travellers thought so).


QueSeraSera October 05, 2014

hello! i am in long island and forever in NYC but never went to sylvias. i have to get uptown! sounds like you had an amazing time!

how was it with the cab :)

bobbi01 QueSeraSera ⋅ October 05, 2014

Well worth the trip (hell I flew about 20 hours to get there - you just need to get on the D train - I think). We were pleasantly surprised with the cabs, nice drivers every single time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.