Day two NYC - Hoho's get free Margaritas in One day at a time

  • Oct. 1, 2014, 10:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So we arrived in New York and into our lovely 2 bedroom (4 story walk up). If I squinted really really hard, I could be Carrie Bradshaw coming home – but in sensible shoes. Tired and feeling a bit grotty we showered and headed out to grab something quick and easy for dinner. What else do you eat on your first night in NYC – pizza! OMG great pizza. This is where having an apartment really paid off. We dragged the pizza and a humungous bottle of wine (everything is bigger in America) up to our apartment, and ate off nice plates.

Next morning we up and out of the apartment early. Off to the subway to buy a $31.00 metro pass for 7 days unlimited public transport (best bargain of the trip….almost, keep reading!). We had pre-purchased hop-on, hop off bus passes and did the lower Manhattan route . The whole point of the Ho-ho bus, is that you are supposed to get off and look at stuff up close but we were content to just try and get our bearings and ooh and aah a lot. We got off down by the World trade centre stop and had a quick lunch (Nachos and a bud-light, oh yeah, starting to settle in nicely).

Then we hopped back on the Brooklyn circuit (which didn’t seem to take long, but didn’t have the same wow factor). We then got off the bus and walked across the Brooklyn Bridge. Wow! People flying along on bikes and others (like us) dawdling along taking photos. We saw a bride and groom posing with the New York Skyline in the background and then a bride and bride further along the bridge. Bravo to me for taking my sunhat and sunscreen – it was warm out there, and I certainly didn’t want a repeat of last years Fiji sunburn fiasco. Feeling great after finishing the walk, we decided that a cold beer was definitely in order. This is where I earned my nick-name for the trip “Eagle eyes”. (personally I preferred “sparkle” from the Norfolk Island trip, but I’ll take it). My up close eye-sight is shit (I now have to carry hobby glasses to read menus), but I can spot a sign miles in the distance. I locked in on a neon sign spelling “bar”. Hello! So in we stumbled to an extremely divey hole in the wall called “Patriots” (I think we were in Tribeca by that stage). The beer was cold and the locals were certainly entertaining. Our day was made when someone sent over margaritas to our table. Gini is Susan’s Aunt and she is in her 60’s. That lady is a trooper, she was up for absolutely anything and a heck of a lot of fun. Even though her eyes were out on stalks she loved the experience. I should mention also, that she comes from a town of 600 people, so yeah NYC was a slight change for her.

We rode the subway back to Harlem (we were getting pretty good at this Uptown, Downtown A train, D train shit). I can’t remember what we had for dinner that night – I think it might have been crackers and nibbly bits. It’s about now I am starting to fully realise the benefits of living with other women. (even short term). My washing that I had haphazardly dumped in the machine that morning made a dried folded reappearance on my bed – bliss.

If you read this far – well done!. You will notice that mostly I’m sounding a bit stilted as a write. Y’all know I am a lazy bitch, and I’m thinking I might be able to clean this up a bit and pass it off as a report for work….my bad!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.