Happy October 1st. in 2014

  • Oct. 1, 2014, 12:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I guess if I was serious about changing my life and finding a new job, we could go ahead and chalk up my efforts so far as a Pretty Big Failure. I did have a really lovely conversation with a recruiter last week and we chatted about a role at an agency that, if I were to ever consider going back to an agency, would be the role and the agency I would consider. But the more I thought about having to commute an hour each way to work (which would require us increasing our car ownership 100% from 1 to 2), the more I talked myself out of what could have been a perfect position for me.

I also couldn’t wrap my head around jumping back into agency life. It was awesome working at an ad agency when I was in my 20s, and even early 30s, because I was young, energetic, kid-less and lived in the heart of where most agencies at that time were located, so my commute was pretty awesome. But now that I’m on the other side of the world in EAST LOS ANGELES, commuting ANYWHERE in the world other than other locations on this side of town feels insurmountable. Also, there’s a definite lack of People with Kids in the agency world, so sympathy for true work/life balance is pretty low. And my tendency is to be a people-pleasing workaholic, which means I would be seeing so much less of my family if I made that switch, and I just can’t emotionally imagine it. So I reviewed the job description, drank a bunch of wine and pondered for a few days, and then send a very lovely thanks-but-no-thanks note back to the recruiter.

I also applied for TWO high-profile TV network jobs that looked Pretty Perfect for me [on paper]. One was even really close by and would have been a pretty easy commute. But, uh, the applications must have gone into the LinkedIn Virtual Abyss because I wasn’t contacted at all by either company. That, or, my qualifications aren’t as amazeballs as I think they are.

So that’s fun.

So I had a great networking lunch last week with a potential client for my current company that was so energizing and so encouraging. My business partner joined the lunch and we both felt so excited afterwards about the potential. She also said some kind words about my ability to network and what a great lead this was, which was nice to hear. And it sparked my energy back into trying to find more leads for my current situation rather than barking up anymore fruitless trees.

[HUGE SIGH]

The deal is - I have a lot of ‘feelers’ out there for potential job leads. So when/if they timing is right, perhaps something will pop back up on my radar and I will go for it. However, the more I pondered my life and my situation and my finances, the more I realized that I really just need to put more time and energy into my current situation before I just throw it all away for something less than amazing. This might require some sacrifices on the luxury end of my life. But I think I can figure it all out. I hope so.

In other news, we are still in the process of trying to get our refinance deal closed which would decrease our monthly expenses by $1500. While this is less than what we were originally hoping for (a decrease of $2100), it’s still a very helpful solution if it goes through We’ve had a few hiccups along the way, but the amazing news is that our home was appraised at a value that is almost 20% MORE than what we bought it for, which in turn gave us a sizeable amount of equity. Our credit took a hit in the last year, but I think we might be able to get ourselves back on track and not feel so overwhelmed by our debt-cloud.

We are also moving along the path of getting solar panels installed, which will be a nice little improvement to our house, and could further increase our resale value. It will also regulate our electricity bill, which has been completely out of control due to the ongoing heat and need for a cool house (Aaron, Joaquin and Camus all run very hot, so it’s imperitive that we have A/C on all night long, which has also resulted in running it all day long…gahhh). Anyway, having a solar system decreases our dependency on fossil fuel, which is awesome, but it also saves us money in the long run because it regulates our electricity pricing. Overall, it’s good for the earth, and it’s at no cost to us whatsoever, so I’m excited about getting it done.

So there is fun in our lives as well. Last week was Aaron’s Birthday Week, and since work has been so slow, we went to not ONE, but TWO afternoon movies while Joaquin was at daycare. We also enjoyed some adult beverages before/during the movies, which was just so delightful. We saw Guardians of the Galaxy, which I adored, and This is Where I Leave You, which I enjoyed. coming up this Monday we are going to see Lorde at the Greek Theater with Aaron’s sister and her boyfriend. Then on Saturday, the 11th, we are going to see Ray LaMontagne at the Greek Theater as well. Aaron’s sister and her BF will be there, but we didn’t get seats together for that one. Then, on the 16th, Aaron and I are flying to Minneapolis for my little brother’s wedding. Joaquin is going to stay here with Gigi, so it will be a nice getaway for us. I’m getting my nails done on Friday the 17th with my bro’s fiance, my mom, my nieces and my sister. Then on Saturday we are getting our hairs did before pictures and the ceremony. I’m excited to get a little pampered! Then the wedding should be awesome. My dad will also be in town, and I haven’t seen him since last summer, so it will be nice to get a little quality time in. Then, on Sunday, Aaron and I are going to see Pearl Jam in St. Paul. So excited for that as well. We have floor seats and a bunch of our college & high school friends will also be there, so it should be a fun night. Then I fly out bright & early Monday morning. Aaron will stay another day to do a boy’s night out with his buddies. Because … why not!

So October is shaping up to be pretty awesome. Then, we are booked for a trip to the Bahamas right before Thanksgiving for another wedding.. another adult trip that should be a nice getaway for us.

So there you have it. Perspective is everything, isn’t it?


Last updated October 01, 2014


MaggieTheCat October 01, 2014

ParyNoid October 02, 2014

Solar Panels for the win! Someday I will have that. My cool in-laws just bought a house (on a mountain) and it is totally self sustaining except for the electric? But it has solar panels so maybe I'm confused on that front. It also has water energy to run certain things. I can't wait to see it and in my deepest heart of hearts I hope we inherit it someday.

Satine October 07, 2014

:)

Jeanine October 07, 2014

You'll work it all out. Having a kid really put things into perspective for me and what is TRULY worth my time. And a job with an hour plus commute that wasn't that amazing? SO not worth my time.

I'm excited to see what the solar panels do for you! I'd love to have those installed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.