Permanent job for a year in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • Oct. 1, 2014, 5:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not a great deal to write about really. I was going to do a couple of book reviews, but I can’t be bothered right now. I have been working at my new job (at a hospital) for nearly two months now, I only have a year’s full time contract. At the end of that 12 months, I have no idea as to what happens next. I may be given full time work, I may be given casual work. Alternatively, I may not get any work there at all. There’s just no guarantee.

I only accepted the job because it was better pay and more hours than my old job. (Ten hours a week, and I was knocked back when I asked to increase my hours).

I put myself down for some recruitment pools, all of which are closing next year. I have been knocked back from one, I got an interview recently for another. The interview could have gone better, I was only told during the interview that it was for a casual vacancy and that the start date would be within the next couple of months. I was then told that I’d find out within the next month whether or not I’d get the position. I doubt if I get offered the job, but I’m after more of a concrete position - I’ve worked casual before in a different field, and found it to be a pain. No regular hours. Three hours one week, four hours the next. Take off petrol just to get there, plus day to day bills, and I’m struggling. No thanks. Give me permanent hours.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.