The Talk. in the start of the next part... Autumn 2014.

  • Sept. 30, 2014, 2:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Girls have long known of periods, babies, eggs and that our bodies are beautifully designed for our vaginas to grow in order to allow the baby out. They even know that daddy’s have sperm which make the eggs turn into babies. Tonight, however, the questions came thick and fast at dinner time. ‘where do the men keep their sperm?’ ‘how do they get the sperm out?’ And then, we got in depth about periods. They know that I have them because we don’t have a closed bathroom door policy. We’ve talked about them before. But it was very intense, what happens? How much? How old? And suddenly tally went bright red and burst into tears. She was mortified that she would have to tell someone, me included, and is very stressed out that we have no idea when they’ll start. We kept it all natural, low key and chatty and I’m sure she’ll get the hang of the concept eventually.

Who knew that the most traumatic part of The Talk would be about periods?!

Bless her cotton mix socks ;-)


~Twinkle~ September 30, 2014

Bless her! X

Deleted user September 30, 2014

I remember my neighbour telling me all about them when I was probably about 9. She made it all sound very horrific and I went crying to my mum who calmly sat down and explained it all - we had the big talk, but I remember being terrified!

ElvenAssassin September 30, 2014

Poor sweetheart; bless her!

And the answer from biology class is approx 4 ml, hehe ;)

Deleted user September 30, 2014

Aw, poor Tally! But it's good to have the talk early, she'll have time to adapt and it won't come as a shock when it happens!!

Deleted user September 30, 2014

Can't wait for that talk with my daughter. It sounds like you have a great open parenting style :)

Life Is For Living October 01, 2014

Because my Mother never really talked to me about any of these important issues, when I got my period at the ripe ol' age of 10, I hid it for a day or two. My Mom eventually discovered that I had gotten my period. I was too "embarrassed" to tell her because of my age & because we weren't open about such things. I knew what it was, because at least she did buy me a book on certain issues that she gave me prior, but -- we never discussed it. That is why I choose to be far more open with my children for the future. It really does make s difference!

Food Master October 01, 2014

So much better you have given her a "Heads Up". No one told me and I thought I was dying when it happened. I cried and tried to hide it from my Mom because I didn't want her to worry. Such foolish ideas kids have. We all get over it and now it isn't even an issue with me anymore! Yay for aging.

The Tranquil Loon October 08, 2014

The Tranquil Loon October 08, 2014

I'm here if I just reading these terrified stories. More information is out than ever and it still a modifying subject. Hope your children get well adjusted beforehand if that's even possible

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.