Suggestion Box, Autumn 2014 Edition in Suggestion Box

  • Sept. 29, 2014, 9:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m pretty happy with the core features of the site at this point. Having those in place will let me focus on other areas of the site. I think search and discoverability are the big things I want to look at more.

Obviously being able to easily search across site content would be an excellent way for people to network more easily. Also tags and/or groups (or Circles as you OD folks like to tell me).

I have a few other ideas - reading recommendations based on similar interests and friends. I think gamification could be a potential feature - example: earning a badge for random achievements such as being on the site every day for some period of time.

Also, now that I have a Terms of Service in place, I will probably look more closely at a Premium paid option that would remove ads and add some nice bonus features. I want the site to be usable by everyone, so I wouldn’t withhold features that are necessary to use and enjoy the site, just some extra snazz. Maybe some image storage and customization and other enticing goodness.

All right, I am outta here. Goodnight Prosebox.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm September 29, 2014

not so sure i would pay to write here. i paid for a lifetime subscription at open diary and it only lasted the lifetime of open diary not mine. nope, don't want to pay again. however, i am thankful for this place to write. this time i wanted a simple understated place to put my words even though they aren't worth reading 99% of the time. take car,e

simple mind Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ September 29, 2014

Well, you don't have to worry about a "Lifetime" option here. I would never go that route because it doesn't really mean much.

ThisIsME simple mind ⋅ September 29, 2014

On other site I am part of they have extra and plus subscription one you can earn(with points you get for being active on the site) and get a few added things with and the other is a full on paid subscription which gives you more bonuses. That way it still encourages traffic (maybe with x amount of the achievements met you can get this for a time frame), and those who like it can go to the next level and have a subscription. Just tossing things out lol it is nice medium of free and subscription lol I think at least

An'yai ThisIsME ⋅ September 30, 2014

I like that idea, but the biggest problem I see would be balance -- how not to make it too easy that no one pays and just goes for the bonus subscription, and at the same time, not make it so out of reach that everyone gets discouraged. I had that problem with Writing.com, I was excited that I could earn points towards subscriptions, but when I saw how many points it took, I figured I was better off not being on the site at all.

Maybe doing like a half step... maybe for x amount of points you lose the ads, but don't get all the other paid bonuses?

I'd totally pay though. Just to get the ads off the site and whatnot.

Complicated Disaster simple mind ⋅ September 30, 2014

That's a shame because that idea really worked for me!

Starhawk September 29, 2014

Ugh, the thought of gamification makes me ill.

Here's a suggestion: fix where in your bookmark-stream reading a Revised entry puts you. That is, a Revised entry pops up on my list of unread bookmarks. Maybe something from last week. If I click it, read it, then click "Next bookmark", I'm taken to the followup entry in the stream from last week -- something I've already read -- instead of my next unread bookmark. That means the only way back to where I want to be is to click back to the main page, back to the bookmark list, and manually select the first unread bookmark. And that kind of sucks.

simple mind Starhawk ⋅ September 29, 2014

Ah yes. Good to know.

crafty_tori Starhawk ⋅ October 21, 2014

But don't you want to read the update?

Starhawk crafty_tori ⋅ October 21, 2014

Read more closely. The problem I described arises AFTER I've read the update. Today is October 22. I'm mostly caught up on my bookmarks, but someone I read has revised an entry from Oct 10. I notice the revision and go read it. Then, AFTER reading the revised entry, I click "Next Bookmark".

What I want at that moment is to be taken to the next "new" bookmark from 10/22. What actually happens is that I'm stuck in the middle of a bunch of entries I've already read from 10/10. The only way to return to 'new' entries is to go back to the main page and start over - multiple clicks and pageloads. Not cool.

This appears to also be a problem for 'backdated' new entries.

simple mind Starhawk ⋅ October 22, 2014

This should be fixed now. Bookmarks navigation will sort by the revised date, author and book navigation will ignore revision dates and sort by published date (consistent with how things are listed). Let me know if you see any more problems.

Starhawk simple mind ⋅ October 22, 2014

You. Da. Man.

Starhawk simple mind ⋅ October 23, 2014

I might suggest that the "in reply to another user's comment" appear at the top, next to the timestamp, avoid confusion.

Deleted user September 29, 2014

How about a way to back our entries up like allowing us to download them for personal safe keeping. Is that ever going to be on the list? Computer disasters happen all the time and i have lost many entries on that other site due to mischievous hackers trying to play games.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ September 29, 2014

It's already added. Go to any of your book listing pages, there's an Export button at the top.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ September 29, 2014

Sorry. Thanks for the direction. :-)

Leanne 🌈 September 29, 2014

Paying depends on how much and what extras one would get. After paying for OD um I am on the fence big time on paying up money. Digging all that you have done here thus far....party on Wayne.

simple mind Leanne 🌈 ⋅ September 29, 2014

It would probably be $3 per month. Hopefully I've differentiated myself from OD sufficiently that those that have the means and interest in a premium account wouldn't shy away based on past experience.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ September 30, 2014

I'd gladly pay $3 per month! :)

Leanne 🌈 simple mind ⋅ September 30, 2014

Indeed you have differentiated yourself from OD. I will think about it $3.00 a month not too bad. I will continue to think about it all good. :)

patrisha simple mind ⋅ September 30, 2014

And, please, the ability to pay for at least a year at a time. Monthly, I tended to forget until the ads appear again! LOL Actually, I don't really mind the ads here too much except for the fact that they tend to try to sell me the EXACT thing I have just bought! But I would be happy to pay to see them go...

Jeanine simple mind ⋅ September 30, 2014

I paid for shit service and a shit site for the better part of 10 years. I'd gladly pay for this [non-shit] site.

An'yai simple mind ⋅ September 30, 2014

3/month is a great price.

Oh! Maybe when you get that set up, a way to gift subscriptions? I used gift subscriptions to lure my friends into OD a long time ago, and I think they'd absolutely love what you have here.

simple mind An'yai ⋅ September 30, 2014

Yes, definitely! That would be a great way to boost subscriptions when I get to that point. :)

Pretend Mulling September 29, 2014

I'm not sure about the badges/gamification. Seems a bit gimmicky, and I like the lack of gimmicks here.

I'd love to see Interests, though, the way they were on OD.

patrisha Pretend Mulling ⋅ September 30, 2014

yes, I agree with you on the badges...

hot-lips Pretend Mulling ⋅ September 30, 2014

I'm with you on that one. I'm not particuarly fussed re gamification - it would only encourage me to spend more time on here when I should be doing various other things. lol But some sort of an interests list, or a reader of a bookmark suggestion would be nice. I'm always looking for new people to read.

simple mind Pretend Mulling ⋅ September 30, 2014

Yeah, more people seem to be against it than for it. I sort of suspected that, which is why I slyly tossed it in there to see what kind of feedback it would get. :)

Avalon September 29, 2014

The feature I'd most like to see is the ability to search your own diary. I also agree with previous notes about missing note replies due to lack of notification - that would be a welcome update. I do miss OD-style interests, but that's a perk and not really a necessity. Otherwise, thank you for the great work you're doing here!

Jeanine Avalon ⋅ September 30, 2014

Agreed on a diary search feature!

Noodlebugs! September 29, 2014

I would like the option to have my bookmarks in reverse order, ie Oldest first. I have a tendency to forget that it's newest first and then I have to read entries in the wrong order and feel lost. Geez, typing that out makes me feel so ditzy. But, there it is.

Life Is For Living September 29, 2014

Oh no, not a fan of the badges / gamification idea for this site. LOVE it on Steam, but I much prefer the clean, non-gimmicky feel of PB.

I have to agree with the many suggestions about getting notified of comments within comments.

TellTaleHeart September 29, 2014

Oy, no badges... what's the point? No, seriously, is there some point to them? In some games, they're nice because they earn you extra points/ coins... but what would be the purpose here?

The ability to search your own Prose box would be FAB.

Thanks again for all you do!

Jeanine TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 30, 2014

I don't know what this badges thing is!!

woman in the moon Jeanine ⋅ October 04, 2014

I write on 750 words and they give badges for writing so many days in a row and other accomplishments. The badges are just kind of imaginary pats on the back. I agree with the majority that they aren't needed here.

Jeanine TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 30, 2014

Does this mean I'm an old lady?

TellTaleHeart Jeanine ⋅ September 30, 2014

Haha... I don't really get them either. In this one trivia game I play, you get badges for certain accomplishments, like winning X number of games or answering X number of questions correctly. Those badges come w coins, which you can use to buy "cheats" like skipping a question or bombing out 2 wrong answers. So, like I said, not sure what that point of badges would be on a site like this. :)

woman in the moon Jeanine ⋅ October 04, 2014

It means you don't write on 750 words.

Deleted user September 29, 2014

I see that you have customizable security levels on entries now, which is nice, but I don't see a drafts tab yet. I hope that is still to come soon. I'd also like a search feature and a way to customize backgrounds. Then it would be PERFECT!

Deleted user September 29, 2014

I'm pretty chill with everything, but would love tags.

Deleted user September 29, 2014

You are wonderful! I love everything about Prosebox.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2014

Aww shucks. :)

synapse September 29, 2014

Don't know why you are waiting so long to implement paid subscriptions?

PepperGrape September 30, 2014

I really would like to import my OD to my PB. I used my OD in several ways, one being my families memory, for lack of a better term. If I needed to know when my husband's heart surgery was (or what his condition was called!)-I'd search my OD. If I needed a series of funny quotes from my kids-I'd search my OD. My son just graduated high school and started college and I wanted more than anything to be able to peruse my years of OD entries (since he was 3 years old!) so I could include stories throughout the years in a "you're going to college" letter. But, trying to decipher my 15 years of OD entries as saved is next to impossible. I really miss being able to access that memory bank.

moneypenny PepperGrape ⋅ September 30, 2014

I used my OD this way too! I really miss the entry calendar and the ability to search within my diary.

Deleted user September 30, 2014

This site far outweighs that of OD when it comes to features and overall look. You've done a great job. One of the things I liked about OD is that we could see how old people were and where they lived, even if someone left this information blank. Also, we were able to receive email when friends updated their diary. You might want to consider these options. And, yes, I would chip in a few bucks a month for special privileges.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2014

Agreed! Would like to have the feature of age/location/gender on someone's diary. And a way to search other people on here by age/location would be nice.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2014

Yeah, I want to add a birth date field for two reasons - optionally to show your age, and also let people know about birthdays. That would be a good feature.

Deleted user September 30, 2014

I think everything works really nicely as it is. I'd also love to be notified when people note each other within my notes, that would be great.

Deleted user September 30, 2014

Complaint: I'm still not sold on the new look for books. Especially when having to click a different tab for the description. Maybe I'm just lazy but I'm less likely to read it now, whereas before I enjoyed being able to click on a book and have the description right in front of me.

  • Search feature based on tagged words would be great, I want to read people who share the same interests and have a way to find new people to read.

  • Anonymous notes? Pretty sure we had this feature on OD. Granted it has its drawbacks, just a thought.

  • A "featured" entry or something along the lines of "readers choice". I know people whine about it not being fair and what not, but it's a great way to spotlight wonderful entries, share exciting news, etc.

shnooze Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2014

^^ all of this. ^^

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2014

Yeah, I'll probably move the book description up to the top so it's the first thing you see. I'll also add a little "cut-off" bar for longer descriptions with a "Read More" button so there's not a lot of scrolling to get to the entry listing. But most people seem to keep their book descriptions either brief or non-existent, so it's not too much of a problem anyway.

donut September 30, 2014

Meh, the ads aren't that annoying. At least they aren't pop-up ads, or ads with video.

simple mind donut ⋅ September 30, 2014

I've had a couple of complaints about video ads, or ads taking over the entire screen, but it seems to be the rare exception.

patrisha September 30, 2014

II would be happy to pay extra for no ads! And thank you for all you have done so far!

Jane Says September 30, 2014

Hello there - I would still love to give you money to get rid of advertising, and I would love a more inclusive Bookmarks page similar to what OD had - it was so much easier to keep up with people if I could see a list of them all at once and know who had updated.

Thanks!

Jane Says September 30, 2014

Oh, I'd like to amend my request - you can have advertising, but it can only be Punch The Monkey.

Deleted user September 30, 2014

I would love to see tierd entries where we can share something really personal and private with just a couple of people that we trust.

Miso Honey Deleted user ⋅ October 05, 2014

I concur!

Deleted user September 30, 2014

Didn't mean to leave two notes. I would also like to see the ability to search for notes from one person instead of going through pages of notes to find the one note that I'm looking for.

*Amour De Bebe* Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2014

Would also like this feature too, please :)

~jillybean~ September 30, 2014

I really like prosebox.

I am on an ipad and have issues posting pics within my entries. Ideas?

EvequeFou ~jillybean~ ⋅ September 30, 2014

This is something that OD addressed with a paid feature -- the ability to upload and let OD host the photo. I've tried different options, and the one I've settled on is not for the technically-faint-of-heart. I have an Azure Websites instance running an image resize program (to scale down to more web-friendly sizes) and pulling the photos out of my Azure Storage account. That requires uploading using an Azure Storage tool, but frees me from doing my resizing on a copy before I write the entry.

~jillybean~ EvequeFou ⋅ October 01, 2014

I usually use Flickr for photo storage.

Cat Mommy September 30, 2014

A way to see how many of your entries are FO, MO, public or private in one book. There's a full tally of all the entries in each book but I'd like to see how many are in each privacy category if that's possible. :)

Mercurial Muse October 01, 2014

No additional suggestions from me, but I also wanted to say I am not a fan of the gamification idea.

Deleted user October 01, 2014

Seeing as a lot users here are from OD is there a way to find these people? Maybe having something on the front page? I don't recall anyone's usernames. We need to have a roll call of some sort because damnit, I miss the people I use to read. pouts

Deleted user October 01, 2014

I really think you should add something to this site similar to the Circles from OD. I found no one on this site about my age.

Deleted user October 01, 2014

I'd also like to be able to edit comments after I've already posted them.

synapse October 02, 2014

Analytics!

hoops October 02, 2014

More cowbell!

Reading_Blankie 📚 October 04, 2014

  • maybe a "weekly digest" e-mail in your inbox of recent updates/ new comments in your e-mail? Some people like this and EVERYONE checks their email. I think Livejournal has something like this....
  • maybe do payment options for the paid subscription. like... $18 for 6 months, etc?
  • Random buttons are awesome.
  • I'm not sure about the "gamification" thing. It sounds a tad too much like Facebook .
  • I need tea. October 04, 2014

    Deleted user October 04, 2014

    I like how the site is streamlined and intuitive, the only thing that keeps bugging me is that I have to scroll a lot on the site. So, perhaps placing the edit button at the top and bottom of entry? or maybe moving it to the floating bar with more entries? It just seems I often have a long way to go to fix a typo.

    NeonLady October 04, 2014

    I'm willing to pay just to get rid of the ads, never mind the snazz.

    patrisha NeonLady ⋅ November 13, 2014

    Nodding,!

    Miso Honey October 05, 2014

    What about having those guitars that are, like, double guitars? You know?

    On a serious note, I would like tiers of privacy. I have a lot of friends on here, but would like the option to share certain things with only a smaller circle of people.

    synapse October 08, 2014

    More visual indications of entry privacy settings, such as list of entries on My Profile page and list of entries for books. Back and forward navigation for reading entries of book in chronological order.

    synapse October 08, 2014

    Posting queue. Also I will totally ignore any gamification.

    themoodyone October 10, 2014

    I may be wrong, but it seems to me there's an opportunity with comments. For example, if someone leaves a note on an entry of mine, and user "A" leaves a comment, I get a notification of the new comment. But then if another user, say user "B" happens by and comments on "A's" comment, then "A" gets a notification, but I--the "owner" of the entry don't get another notification. Shouldn't the original author get notified of these goings on? I think that might be a good update, if possible.

    crafty_tori October 21, 2014

    I just thought of something that would be nice! Could we, at some point, maybe add a feature to the bookmarks page where you can unfavorite/unfriend people from there? Rather than having to go into their journal to do it. I hope that makes sense.

    gravity October 22, 2014

    How about the automated note to be added to someone's friends list if they have no public entries?

    Spilledperfume November 02, 2014

    How do I add words around my profile pic like you have?

    Thank you.

    simple mind Spilledperfume ⋅ November 02, 2014

    The new edit page with age and gender, there's also an About Me box.

    Spilledperfume simple mind ⋅ November 02, 2014

    Thank you.

    Deleted user November 10, 2014

    • An app in the future, maybe? :) I find the mobile version unusable for me.
    • No to the gamification and yes to the circles.
    • Would love the image storage (and maybe an expansion of other forms of media, i.e. audio and video).
    patrisha November 13, 2014

    There seem to be so many people wanting to throw money in your direction to get rid of the ads that I am lobbying to have this to go to the top of your to-do list!

    synapse November 13, 2014

    Does changing the password not log out the other sessions?

    Deleted user November 14, 2014

    1. An app for the ipad would be very handy.

    2. Something for when you read an entry but you have no comment but says you were there and read it, instead of just hitting the space bar and enter leaving just your name. Maybe a choice of things that are a little more personal?

    Rerrin Deleted user ⋅ November 25, 2014

    Ooh, I like the 'been here and read it' idea!

    synapse November 18, 2014

    Why did people hate the "like" button so much? I don't respond to comments or entries I like when I don't feel I have anything to add, but I wish there was a way to signal that I appreciated and enjoyed the content even though I don't know what to say about it.

    Kimber December 13, 2014

    You've done such a service for us all, I hate to complain about anything on this site. However, just recently I've been redirected to advertisers' websites without clicking any ads or links. They are not pop ups, and all I've done is click on new entries on my bookmarks list. Needless to say, I'm not thrilled about this.

    Kimber December 13, 2014

    Okay, now simply going to my bookmarks page redirects me to something called "Brain Secrets." Happened twice in a row.
    :-(

    Lindsey December 17, 2014

    A random thought I had just now. I don't know if it has been asked already, but I am curious: Is there possibility for consideration of something like an 'Explore' button for visiting random users?

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.