Entry Privacy! in Site Updates

  • Sept. 30, 2014, 12:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, it’s a big update. You now have the ability to change the privacy level of an individual entry!

Basically, how it works (or how it’s supposed to work anyway) is that when you write a new entry, it will default to your book privacy level. But you will have the option to increase the privacy level of the entry. So for example, in a Members Only book you can change the entry privacy to Friends Only. You cannot, however, change the privacy of an entry in a Friends Only book to Members Only. That just doesn’t work, since the book is already Friends Only and non-friend members can’t see the book at all.

Hope that makes sense.

It should be pretty straight-forward. I should warn you to use this feature with a grain of salt - while I’m fairly certain all the security checks are in place, I won’t say for 100% positive that this is the case for an entry with a different setting than the book (until it’s well tested by the users).

Also, changing the privacy level of a book will still change all of your entries to match. I’m still thinking about the best way to handle that now that there can be different levels in the book.

And since this feature is a BIG one, I think this entry needs more dancing AND more cowbell:

Oh, and I apologize if I’ve messed up entries in progress with this update. There’s a bug I had to fix (while writing this) but it’s caused a few errors.


Deleted user September 30, 2014

Life Is For Living September 30, 2014

Great update for those who wish to use it. That is why I have different books with different privacy levels -- that is enough for me! Thanks for keeping on top of things, however!

Leanne 🌈 September 30, 2014

Cool beans. ;)

ThisIsME September 30, 2014

Yayyyy happy dance Now I can cut back on books lol

Cat Mommy September 30, 2014

Awesome! Thank you!!!!

Deleted user September 30, 2014

Wonderful! And, another great music video I must add.

Wicked Nights September 30, 2014

Wow was that a collective orgasm that just swept through Prosebox? Nope wait, it was just Simple Mind adding selective privacy to entries. Never mind. Proceed.

simple mind Wicked Nights ⋅ September 30, 2014

Ha!

Kate September 30, 2014

<3

patrisha September 30, 2014

At the moment, I have no reason to use this, but obviously it is something a lot of people need, so yeah!

~jillybean~ September 30, 2014

Nice job

sparkyray October 01, 2014

YAY YAY YAY! Thank you!

I need tea. October 04, 2014

Emmy Lou October 05, 2014

Any plans to expand this? e.g. I would like to have a middle man between Friends only and Members only (I want people I follow to be able to read my entries, but not make them a Friend)

Loki October 20, 2014

  • ooh! This sounds good =]
You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.