Writing an exam will have to wait in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • Sept. 29, 2014, 11:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a beautiful fall day. The temps are in the 70’s, trees have begun to turn with lightly sun-kissed leaves of red, orange and yellow. There are an abundant of hues of reds, many with tinges of purple making the painters scramble for the perfect light and setting for the fall foliage artistry which takes over this time of year. We have so many rivers and ponds around here, with reflections of old barns and farmhouses glimmering onto the surfaces. I have taken a camera out several times attempting to catch the awe inspiring beauty, but skills are lacking and the photos don’t even come close.

It is not uncommon to walk along the river bank on campus and see students with easels and sketchbooks drawing and painting the rapids and covered bridge surrounded by bright vibrant colors. This campus has all the stereo-typical beauty of what an author may describe as the ultimate New England Liberal Arts College Campus should haves. It is a wonderland to walk through and around. Truly, I have been blessed to have landed here.

My office is located in an old house, build in the late 1880’s. It would have been a bedroom at one time, but it is fairly large and with windows on the east and north walls. There are three other offices of similar size and a large bathroom consisting of double sinks and a working shower. We have a large unfinished attic which I have asked repeatedly to convert to either office space or a student lounge for the majors. With all the changes in faculty and refocus of the majors - this may never happen. On the lower level there are three more offices and a large “Conference” room, which I use to teach one class in. It holds 13 comfortably but more than that is rather tight. There is a wall separating this room from a very small office that could come down and enlarge the space to make it more comfortable. At this time, I have asked to have that done. We’ll see if it happens.

In my office I have two wicker chairs with cushions, another small wooden chair (I recovered the seat to match the wicker) a small side table, my desk and chair, two large book cases which cover the north wall to the window and are overflowing with books and handouts, etc… and on the south wall stands a tall lateral file. An old TV/VCR combination unit sits quietly wanting to be used again. Leaning against that is a 2 foot blow up monkey with it’s hand looking as if it is holding up my diplomas, and a stack of files to be put away. A framed photo of hubby laying on a hammock hung between palm trees by the ocean sits in the foreground, while another of my parents peaks out from behind.

The West Wall has a white board with reminders, a closet with a mirror on the door surrounded by Monkeys and butterflies (children’s room peal & sticks that a colleague gave me) and a cork board filled with photos of my children as they were growing up. A large bunch of sage is hanging by the door - the tips slightly burned from a ceremony we held a few years back to cleanse the meditation circle up on the hill by the residents halls. There is also a small cubby on that wall which houses my little refrig, microwave and a tea cart. The cart holds the coffee/tea makers and a small toaster oven. I hung shelves above this for tea cups and bowls, flatware, paper towels and cans of soup. My small collection of teas and strainers have a nice home there as well. What other wall space there is in the rest of the room have paintings my daughter did, one Salvador Dali print of the “ROSE” floating in the air and my framed Decree from the Oxford Round Table. (It looks impressive). I can be at my desk, which sits in the middle of the room along the East wall, and look into the hall and out the East window onto the green lawn behind the house. Somewhere in the other piles of papers and files scattered around the desk on the top and on the floor, are papers that need grading and an exam that needs to be written. I do not feel like doing this today. But alas, this too shall be done.

I took one more look around this mess and didn’t tell you about the 6’ blow up monkey who occupies a space by the filing cabinet, (I should explain the monkey stuff… I use Fred - the large monkey, to demonstrate size differential from small children to adults - as a reference point - in my child development classes, somehow others began to bring me monkeys of all sizes and shapes so Fred wouldn’t feel lonely) or the small collection of mermaid stuff my students and colleagues have seen fit to slip in occasionally. (A few years ago I began a group called, The Mermaid Club” for young women to learn about becoming women and to feel safe to discuss issues they have on love, sex, study, family, etc… it spread to all women on campus and a group of staffers and faculty began attending as well). I have learned that once you introduce something with an icon, you will be over-run with them in short order.

So, I really do need to actually get some work done. Thanks for allowing me to share my space with you. It’s a little bit of home away from home.


ODSago September 30, 2014

I loved reading this. It comes across from the words you use to create images as a backdrop for a film setting. I visited Vermont one August, and one of the colleges (Middlebury? Middleberry?) and the poetry workshops nearby...brings that trip back. Thanks for posting. I am writing from FL, retired but once a part-time instructor in a university here. I'm in a condo I've rented at the beach on a gray day but yesterday everything was sparkles of sun and wave and puffy cloud. Miss Autumn colors...nothing else but that from living in the 4 seasonal parts of the country. My best. Enjoy your cozy office and the beautiful colors outside.

Food Master ODSago ⋅ September 30, 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind words. FL has it's good points as well, they are just different. If you are okay with it, I'd like to read some of your postings as well.

ermentrude September 30, 2014

I love word images and your surroundings popped into life, one sentence after another creating another little piece of the image as I read. Thank you. X

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.