Decisions, Decisions..... in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Sept. 27, 2014, 10:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, lots of developments recently that involve decision making, and I would love some feedback on them.
My primary employer is pushing hard for me to quit my second job. I’ve been resistant to do so because frankly, I need the money. Their argument is that there is plenty of overtime to be had there. This is true but in the past the overtime goes away before my financial crisis.
The second problem is that I am having health issues, probably due to the ridiculous amount of hours that I HAVE worked.
Between both jobs I have worked anywhere from 60 to 102 hours a week for the last year. A few weeks ago my doctor diagnosed me with severe anemia, low potassium, low blood sugar, low blood pressure and slow and erratic erratic heartbeat. His opinion is that I am overdoing it, and looking back at my year I can’t really argue.
And now, on to some of the interesting things that I would like feedback on. Some of you may know, many may not, that I used to be ridiculously overweight. I recently posted a note here and on Facebook regarding the closure of the facility that helped me lose weight with bariatric surgery. This posting got back to the lady who owned the company, and based partially on that, she has reopened. She has also contacted me to see if I would be willing to co-author a book, which she would aid in getting published. Diane is a published author many times over, and has been fairly successful at it, aside from her other business ventures, which are considerable. I have no doubt that it would get published. The book would detail the trials and tribulations of the super morbidly obese, in much the same fashion as the recently popular book “The Help”. She wants me to detail my complete story also, which I have never wholly shared due to some of the content from my childhood. I can do it, but much of my story I have kept to myself because it’s simply so personal. However, if I’m going to ask others to bare their souls, I would be honor bound to do the same however uncomfortable. Accordingly if you’re interested in the whole ugly unvarnished truth about this stuff, keep your eye out on my postings I’ll get it up soon. It’s just going to require careful thought on how to be open on some things.
The second thing is, I have been asked to illustrate a series of children’s books for a portion of the profits. Normally I would say “no” out of hand to profit sharing offers, but again this is an author who has already been published, and an old friend. It’s a series of five books and all illustrations would be watercolour.
Ok, so my questions are: do you think a book about severely overweight people; the trials and pain, as well as the psychological and emotional causes, in their effort to lose weight would be something people would read? (Wait a few days and read my complete tale before you decide).
And do you think trying to illustrate children’s books between writing a book and keeping a full time job is overdoing it again? I have way more confidence in my artistic ability than my literary, but I’d love to try my hand at both. And I have nearly a full year before the first children’s book comes out.
So, at any rate I’m going back to one job at the end of this month and possibly starting work on a book and some art projects. 2015 looks to be an interesting year.


Last updated September 27, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.