Still in 2014

  • Sept. 26, 2014, 9:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me preface this by saying, I am not unhappy. I have no regrets. We are hopefully moving in to our new house soon and there are job developments on the horizon and I am beginning to feel a little more integrated into the university and like I am finding my place.

But Cardiff still calls to me. It is a physical ache in my chest. I try not to think about it. It feels so utterly and completely ridiculous to feel this about a place. About a city. It’s stupid, but its very real.

It is a year today since I left. I thought it wouldn’t hurt anymore but it makes me well up just thinking about it. Its September and it’s getting a little cooler and I think about wearing scarves and jumpers and walking around Roath park. I think about the night I met Kate in Wetherspoons and got drunk and she went to watch Lee Evans and I walked home on my own and stopped in at Winter Wonderland and went on the chair-o-planes alone, blasting Frank Turner in my ears. I think about how safe I always felt. I think about my little flat and the way the sun would stream through the window. I think about the shops that I could just hop on a bus to, or the lovely welcoming pubs. I think about the people, but less so in all honesty. I spent quite a lot of time doing my own thing in Cardiff, especially in the last year. I think about trotting down Albany Road, buying wool, drinking coffee on my own in Coffee #1. I think about the botanical gardens and the lake and the nice little Indian man who lived next door and used to let me use his washing line. I miss the hustle and bustle.

I don’t know if this will ever go away. I don’t know if visiting will make it worse. I remember being in my first year at university and feeling like this in reverse, missing home so so much, but that was more about people than places.

I remember years ago, maybe the last year of undergrad or the firts year of PhD, walking down Salisbury Road, alone, headphones in and the sun shining through the trees. I was happy and content and secure after such a long time of being uncertain. I remember thinking about how when I applied to University there was only one place I wanted to go, even though I had never even visited it. I knew I wanted to be in Cardiff. I remember walking down that street that day and thinking “Here I am. I did this.” I was so proud and so happy. I still miss you Cardiff. Ridiculously so. I don’t know how to get over you.


fidget September 26, 2014

I felt like this for the first couple of years after I left Melbourne. It fades eventually xx

Etoile Filante September 26, 2014

It's your Tiffany's. nods
xXx

Emmy Lou September 27, 2014

nods
leans on your shoulder
XOXOXO

history of love October 19, 2014

I can't remember why you can't move back? I mean I know you moved because of your relationship but what is his connection to where you are? and it can't be forever, can it? Jobs and houses can be found elsewhere.
I know how you feel, but I feel it for places I've never lived. And I am not a tree, and I can and am able to move. So I will. But it has taken me years to get here, to the planning of going. x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.