9 Sleeps to Departure - 24.09.14 in Your Face

  • Sept. 24, 2014, 6:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Single digits now - woah.

I actually had a crappy day. I felt weird, my eyes couldn’t focus, knees and hips aching. I took a punt on a random bus (I have to get two or three depending on the time of day to get to my job) and it didn’t pay off. I was left at the bottom of a super long, steep hill with nearly half an hour until another bus that could get me to the top of the hill where my sister lives. So I figured I might as well walk, because I’d get home at about the same time as the bus would come, plus I’d save $3. Then I had to choose whether to walk along the road, or to take the flat walking track that goes under the road, but ends with a super, SUPER steep hill that is short, but seriously kicks ass. I took the road, and plodded along for 20 minutes with a bag of groceries over my shoulder and feeling very sorry for myself.

That all lifted once I got home, though. I fed the dog, prepared my dinner (a roasted sweet potato, scooped out and filled with the last of my spaghetti sauce). I texted with a friend for a while, got some emails from my sister. I packed my lunch for work tomorrow, and a few bags of snacks for future days. I feel content. This is what normal life is, and I forgot how it feels. Normal meals, a couch, a tv. Such little things that I had forgotten about. No wonder I’ve been so depressed.

They’re finally advertising for a new receptionist, now that I’m definitely finished after Tuesday. Nothing like waiting until the last minute! The applications flood in, and one woman called today because she had submitted her application an hour earlier and had not heard from us. And she was serious. It’s just so completely unrealistic. She called back later in the afternoon, too, to see if there was anyone she could talk to about her application. I’m all for a follow up call if you haven’t heard anything in, say, ten days..... An hour after submission is just crazy.

I managed to wear my new glasses for about four hours today. My eyes are slowly adjusting, but it’s very tempting to throw on my old glasses that feel so comfortable.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.