Well that was dumb of me... in Life

  • Sept. 23, 2014, 6:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m always surprised at how long it’s been since I’ve written. I promise it’s not because I don’t want to, or because I’m living some whirlwind life. lol
I’m amazed that we are already sending home report cards for the first time this year. The time has literally flown. It’s not a perfect year, by any stretch of the imagination, but it’s going really well. I don’t remember if I’ve written about it, but I have two method students with me. This is when you are almost ready for student teaching, but not quite. They are with me for social studies, diversity, and classroom management. I agreed to one. (Our elementary superintendent who just retired has started teaching at the university. She cornered me in Dollar Tree this summer and guilted me into agreeing to take on e on. :D) Somehow that means I have 2. One (a male - very unusual in the elementary field) comes on Wednesdays and the other (my cousin’s ex-wife - that could have been interesting. It was bloody, bloody divorce). I’m still a little hesitant and not sure how much I need to put on them. My own methods classes were strictly observation, other than the one lesson I taught. I’m hoping to give them a chance to do some teaching before then. I’m working on topics for them to teach. That’s the toughest part right now, assuming where I’ll be teaching in a few weeks. I know where I want to be, but that’s not always where I end up. (Time is not my friend!) And, I just hope I’m able to give them a good experience.
The title of this entry, though, is about me possibly giving myself a minor concussion. I was putting sheets in the dryer when one started falling. I reached down quickly to grab it and slammed my eyebrow into the edge of the dryer. I saw stars, y’all. This was Sunday and it still hurts and I’ve basically had a headache since then. The school nurse checked it out for me today (because my big mouth co-worker told her about it) and said it was probably a minor concussion, but at this point not much could be done. She did tell me that the next time I take a blow to the head that hard I should think about going to the doctor. Ehhhh…I figure if it doesn’t knock me out I’m good, right? :D


Jigger September 23, 2014

No, goober. You ought to go, even if you don't knock yourself out! Trust me on this one. I know headbangs! ...Though to be honest, I never have gone in over a(n alleged) concussion, either. :P

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ September 23, 2014

Maybe it'll knock something loose and make me smarter! :)

Deleted user September 24, 2014

Yes, if you ever bang your head that hard again, you should get checked ! You know if that was one of your students or family , you would! You need to take just as good of care of yourself ! Lecture over :-). Report card time already ??? Wow ! Glad the year is going pretty well. I am sure you are a gifted teacher and that you expect way too much of yourself . If you can inspire your kids to acquire a love of learning then you have achieved the best thing you can give them, right ????

terriberri September 24, 2014

ouch....those eyebrow bangs are painful ones! makes my eyes water just thinking of it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.