Reality check - the cotton wool head version. in the start of the next part... Autumn 2014.

  • Sept. 23, 2014, 3:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: lying flat on my back, on my bed. Head is propped up at an angle that almost causes an inability to breathe, but not uncomfortably so. Next to me is Rich who is giggling at something he’s seen on his phone and listening to Aphex Twin.

WEARING: my work clothes, which are my interview clothes today. The blue trousers and blue shirt with white and blue flowery insert in the middle. I’m not wearing any earrings (!!!!!!!!!) But I have my watch, rainbow wrist thong, two leather wrist thongs and a red hair scrunchy around my wrist.

FITNESS UPDATE: my body seems to be getting used to my cycle commute currently. I do approximately 4 miles a day, to and from work. There is a foot/bike bridge on my journey which involves steep climb both ways (ergo a ‘waaaaaaaahooooooooo!’ each way too!)(waaaaaaaaahoooooooo! Is Lila’s favourite thing to say when she freewheels downhill). I’m not running because it doesn’t seem to fit in at the moment, but I don’t mind as I’m getting my exercise.

Since starting this job my weight loss seems to have kicked into gear once more. I put two stone (28lbs) on when I wasn’t running last year (due to plantar fasciitis). I had dropped 17lbs just from going sugar free, but that ground to a halt before the summer and I hovered at 11 stone 3lbs (157lbs) for weeks. Since starting work the weight has started moving too. I’m down to 10 stone 13lbs (153lbs). That makes me happy :-)

IN THE NEWS: just over half of Scottish voters voted against independence. I’m not sure how I feel, I do think that it will happen eventually, and I’m very interested in what will happen when it does. They prime minister made all sorts of promises to the Scottish people if they voted ‘no’ and, rumour has it, he’s reneging on some of then already.

READING: I Still Dream About You by Fannie Flagg. It’s very interesting because it’s written from the point of view of a suicidal woman, but written as though she’s talking about her next shopping trip or holiday. I’m very intrigued as to where she will end up.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: up, work. Maths, literacy, keeping a couple of boys in at play time. One on one reading. Open evening at school so I stayed longer and did some marking while hanging about with my teacher. Picked up my girls and we climbed trees on the way home. Tally crossed the road without looking properly (although she swears that she did) and a car was coming. Thankfully he stopped and let us all across. I, of course, yelled at tally but not in anger, in fear. All I did was shout her name but she dropped her bike and ran off, she hates being shouted at (don’t we all) poor thing. Once I explained that I was terrified that she was going to be hit by a car she clung to me and cried for about five minutes. I think it scared her a lot too. We were home by 6.45 and all sunk into the sofa to watch Scooby doo together.

And the doorbell rang. It was a friend who was coming to pick up a potty for her little boy. I then sunk down again… Dinner involved eggs. Many forms of eggs. Scrambled, boiled and omelette (why can’t all my family enjoy their eggs cooked the same way!). I sank into the sofa while rich washed up and the girls got ready for bed.

And the doorbell rang. It was a man who had come to pick up a child’s booster seat (for the car). I’ve been selling the rest of what didn’t go in my Big Summer Sale to fund the next subject.

THINKING ABOUT: my new sewing machine! I haven’t got it yet but after so many years of wanting a treadle machine I found the perfect one… It was nothing like the machine i had planned to buy. I was looking for a simple 1930’s cabinet one but this, rather larger, art deco one jumped out at me like a kid saying boo on Hallowe’en. And, like the candy, I had to have it. Thank goodness I got it! It was a nerve wracking eBay purchase. I usually have the ‘i can live without it’ attitude but not this time! I’ve never seen a sewing machine cabinet like this one before!

PLANNING: to drive to Birmingham at the weekend to pick up my new machine. I’m so glad it wasn’t any further away, Birmingham is two hours as it is! Right now I’m planning to go to bed, I’m shattered!

 photo Screenshot_2014-09-22-22-52-42_1.jpg


Deleted user September 23, 2014

What a fright with Tally, but fortunately she's okay. And that's a beautiful machine!! :) Night night <3

~Twinkle~ September 23, 2014

Glad Tally is ok xxx

Deleted user September 23, 2014

I paid some attention to the Scottish vote, was a bit sad at the no but I understand why.

thesunnyabyss September 23, 2014

I'm so glad Tally was ok, so scary though,

what a beautiful sewing machine, I need one myself,

yay on the weight loss!!

have a good day!!!

Deleted user September 23, 2014

I am so covetous of your machine. It's beautiful! Glad Tally escaped injury. Interesting to hear about your job! Congrats on the weight loss :-)

The Tranquil Loon September 23, 2014

I'm happy you got your new sewing machine that looks awesome

Life Is For Living September 24, 2014

How scary -- the incident with Tally!

That is a beautiful machine. Oh, how I wish I could sew!

ElvenAssassin September 24, 2014

That is a beautiful cabinet and machine <3

I'm glad Tally was ok, and yay on the weightloss!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.