10 Sleeps to Departure - 23.09.14 in Your Face

  • Sept. 23, 2014, 3:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My neighbour’s mother died today. I’m pretty sad about it, even though she was 91 and had been progressively ill over the last month, AND she was in the hospice. I should have been able to prepare myself by now.

I went to his house after work to visit, took some food. He seemed okay, and he has quite a lot of company to keep him busy for a while. It’s just a time of big changes for him.

Work was super boring today, I just waited for 5pm to roll around. It’s all money, and I remind myself of that with each hour that passes.

My spaghetti last night was awesome. I really enjoy having the quiet time at my sister’s house to reflect on my imminent departure.

Not much else to report. Concerned about getting the last of my cartons organised for shipping. Not sure I can afford it until this time next week (payday), which is leaving it to the last minute. Worst case, I ask my mother to pay for the shipping and I can pay her back, but I really don’t want to do that, nor do I want to leave the stuff here and have her ship it later. It just won’t happen and my shit will disappear. I’ll just have to figure it out. It bothers me so much because it’s the last major thing, other than a dentist appointment.

My friend (the one that ferried me to Dubbo on the weekend) has booked in lunch on Sunday at a nice place. As much as I want the days to pass so I can just LEAVE, the goodbyes are hurting. Today I farewelled an old work colleague who met me for lunch. I’m starting to panic about it, and it’s just silly. I can’t have everything, and I made the decision to move, so I don’t deserve to be such a baby about it all.

I have fed the hound dog, and I’m going to do a quick load of laundry and park my ass on the couch to relax.

Oh, and my friend that we had the baby shower for recently? She had her baby boy (her second one) on Sunday night. His name is Mateo. Discuss.


Rerrin September 23, 2014

Mateo is nothing. I'm a teacher... it's not a bad name - trust me!

AlexYourAlterEgo Rerrin ⋅ September 23, 2014

I don't mind it. They're Italian and their first son is named Luca. It's just not a name I would pick. My name is Ashleigh, which isn't so unusual, but I am constantly called Alicia or Alison or even Amy, because apparently it's too difficult for about half the population to read/pronounce! That's my main turn off.

Stephably September 23, 2014

My neighbor's name is Mateo, but he's from Mexico, so Mateo = Matthew in Spanish. my brothers name is Matthew lol.

AlexYourAlterEgo Stephably ⋅ September 23, 2014

Yeah, it's the same in Italian, which she is, although she only used one "t" instead of two.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.