Updates in Public

  • Jan. 13, 2024, 8:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Liam healed wonderfully from his surgery and as of the 10th he’s cleared. He’s leaving tomorrow for a work trip. He does have to wear a bone growth stimulator for 4 hours each day but it’s not bothering him yet.
I did get an infection from my surgery. Apparently, the stitches material did not get along with my skin. I took a 7 day round of doxy and it’s doing much better. It is still tender but the incision is actually closed and the swelling is down.
On the 11th I had my tv interview for Teacher of the Year. (public access) We will find out who the 3 finalists are on the 16th. I feel confident that I did a good job with my interview and my essays but I wonder if I am too “new” to the county to become a finalist.

The first week back with the kiddos was tough. These kids are built differently. They seem to have no empathy and no ambition. I love them greatly and they are so smart. They just don’t…care.

In other news I’m attempting to get an appointment with the pituitary center at Hopkins. My endocrinologist doesn’t want to listen to my concerns and his hours aren’t conducive to my work schedule. If I get in at Hopkins I can go once or twice a year and at least I’ll also get to see my family. I see my PCP this coming week to obtain a referral.

We got a new dog. His name is Rupert. He used to be a breeder stud. We were told that he was from a loving home. He was not. He was neglected and had no training and he was aggressive with Mac. Sadly, we only had him for 9 days. We worked with a rescue agency to find him a foster home. I really hope he finds a good fur-ever home with a family that has the time to train him. He also needs a dental cleaning and to be “fixed”. We planned on doing all of that but then he was aggressive towards Mac, started digging up the yard, and would not stop marking the house. It was a really hard week. We thought getting an older dog would be easier but Rupert was like a 4 year old puppy.

When we got back Mac slept for like 5 hours and was so relaxed. He spent the last three days actively avoiding Rupert and when he went near Rupert, Rupert would growl and lunge at Mac. It was so upsetting. We had really been hopeful but sometimes things don’t work out.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.