september 19 in twenty-eight

Revised: 09/22/2014 7:22 p.m.

  • Sept. 19, 2014, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, so it turns out that corn mazes are actually a lot of fun. But more on that later.

I worked all day (I was supposed to leave early, but I had some reports going out and needed to stick around to sign them) and ended up leaving around five. My usual quitting time is 4:15. Traffic was insanely awful. I took the route I always take, which is usually speedier, but today it was bumper to bumper. I spent half an hour in traffic to travel less than a half mile. By the time I finally got to the spot where things lighten up a bit, a train started coming. Alright, fine, whatevs, not a big deal. Until it crawled to a stop and sat on the tracks. I didn’t wait around to see how long that was going to last; I was smart and turned around at that point. It took me an hour to get home; typically it’s 20 minutes. I was pretty frustrated by the time I walked in the door.

I hadn’t eaten all day, so I was hangry (yes, I just used that non-word). C and I were tossing around ideas for dinner, which is a lot more work than it sounds since both of us are very indecisive. Neither of us cares enough to just say, “this is what I want.” We ended up at Natalie’s pizza, which is SO good. Maybe not quite as amazing as Harvest (which wasn’t even close to the quality Clever Crow had before they went out of business), but it was delectable. We got a mushroom pie with goat cheese, and then we branched out and tried a white pizza (I don’t usually like white pizzas; this was pretty good but not as good as the mushroom). I had mead with dinner (yum).

After that, we went over to Pataskala to Lynd’s and tried the corn maze. It was HUGE. I was expecting it to be maybe 15 minutes, but this thing had multiple sections, each with different colors, and they gave us a map beforehand. I thought having the map would be like cheating, but I don’t know what we would have done without one (I also don’t know what we would have done if we didn’t have a flashlight). We were in the maze for about an hour. It was a little creepy and definitely would have been awful if I had been alone.

Afterwards we came back and I fell asleep watching Criminal Minds. So exhausted, I actually couldn’t keep my eyes open and that doesn’t happen too often to me. But being that tired and being able to fall asleep…it’s a great feeling.


Last updated September 22, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.