september 16 in twenty-eight

Revised: 09/22/2014 9:51 p.m.

  • Sept. 16, 2014, 1 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As I’ve mentioned multiple times, I am tutoring math (and statistics) now in the evenings. My weekly student, M, is a bright sophomore. She just needs some help with reassurance. But really, she gets most of the concepts. It’s easy money. I don’t dread Tuesday nights with her because I don’t worry about how she’s going to do in the class (yes, I get very emotionally tangled up in my students’ performances. I want them to do well, and only partially because it reflects on me).

But on Wednesdays…oy. I do worry about that student. She’s older and doesn’t seem to want to put in extra work to get the grade she needs (she only wants to pass,which is good, but I’m worried about even that). Honestly, it’s a VERY easy class. And she seems to love working with me. But she just doesn’t really listen, gets distracted easily, and has a difficult time remembering steps for things (we’re working with SPSS, a statistics tool, and there are lots of things which have to be memorized). Thankfully, she only has another three weeks to go. Unless she fails…then I guess it’s another semester after that.

The money is nice. I don’t think I want to do this forever, though…it’s stressful!


Last updated September 22, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.