Terms of service update in Site Updates

  • Sept. 15, 2014, 10:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

By the time you read this entry, you will most likely know about the new Terms of Service and have agreed to them. It’s been on my to-do list for forever and has not been one of my favorite things to create on this site.

But it’s necessary and provides rules and protection. You’ll also notice that there are now links in the site footer to the various items: Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, and Rules. And also a Contact page since I never added that.

Hopefully it’s all pretty straight-forward with nothing unexpected. I’m not trying to sneak anything in that isn’t standard for most communities these days.

It’s kind of a crazy week, so if I get inundated with questions and requests, please be patient with me. Thanks for helping to keep Prosebox a safe and happy place to be.


The Thirsty Oriental September 15, 2014

Nice additions!

simple mind The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ September 15, 2014

Thanks!

Naiad September 15, 2014

How very professional of you, Sir. So official. :)

simple mind Naiad ⋅ September 15, 2014

Yeah, I've been in dire need of an official CYA. ;)

Tehachap September 15, 2014

No problems from this corner of the globe. All very clear and good to know.

Cat Mommy September 16, 2014

Nice. :)

Echo September 16, 2014

Wow. I actually read them before clicking the box. grin

TellTaleHeart September 16, 2014

Wow, and it's all in plain English! Well done. :)

Leanne 🌈 September 16, 2014

All good. :)

Silverstar46 September 16, 2014

So.. I totally clicked accept before I read them and then went back and read them. Yes, I'm that weird.

TellTaleHeart Silverstar46 ⋅ September 16, 2014

I did the same thing! I trust our overlord too much, it seems. :)

Emmy Lou TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 16, 2014

Same!

Silverstar46 TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 17, 2014

LOL.. yeah I'm going to go with I trust him that much instead of, "I'm that effing lazy!" hahahaha

Starhawk September 16, 2014

Well played.

EvequeFou September 16, 2014

Two minor nits on the privacy policy:

  • "information may include but not limited to" needs an "is"
  • While the second sentence makes the context clearer, in "Prosebox may transfer your personally identifying information to another entity that has acquired it" it's not immediately clear whether the "it" is "Prosebox" or "your information." (You might sell my info? What?) You might reword this as something like "In the event Prosebox is acquired by another company...."

Otherwise, everything looks pretty standard and unobjectionable. Good job!

Nin September 16, 2014

I knew that a TOS list could be compiled that was not 20+ pages long. You keep amazing me, sir.

Lobbastah September 16, 2014

As long as I can still write in the nude, I'm good.

Justlovely September 17, 2014

Well done. Clear language, reasonable stuff to both know and with which to agree. Yes. I read it all.

Deleted user September 17, 2014

How should violations be reported? If in the even or a violation, what is the procedure?

middle age pearl September 17, 2014

Straight up. Thanks.

hoops September 18, 2014

Yeah. I signed it without reading. I don't owe you my firstborn or anything, do i?

simple mind hoops ⋅ September 22, 2014

No, I find raising my own children challenging enough. You can keep all of your future kids. There might be a clause about possession of your soul, however. :D

MemoryFails September 19, 2014

Finn September 19, 2014

I read them. They were very well written and much appreciated.

Everything Good Rebecca September 20, 2014

Well done!

Complicated Disaster September 21, 2014

It was nice to read some Terms of Service that were actually clear and written in English that people can understand!

Loki October 20, 2014

  • I have not seem them as I have not been around. . .so will have to hunt them down and give it a read, yo =]
You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.