Things A-Stir O Spring in My New Life

Revised: 01/09/2024 7:13 a.m.

  • Jan. 7, 2024, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Though the weather is still chilly the refreshing feeling of the trees creaking of growth, roots taking grasp, leaves and thylakoids like a conductor of a symphony readying their batons overtake the landscape not to long ago barren and cold like surface of a lifeless asteroid hurtling through space and time. The students have arrived. I begin my psychology class in the morning. I am ready to throw the winter’s slumber off like a molting bird, a shedding snake or butterfly outgrown his chrysalis. I’ve read ahead my psychology textbook. I am still in Early Adulthood, and will be for 10 or so more years. Though I feel these last two winters have served me harshly, the time of introspection has put some perspective on life. I am adjusting into Middle Adulthood, and prioritizing some perspectives. Though I am still in good shape there are habits that need adjusting and relationships that need sorting through.

(Feedback is welcome).

a.) As it stands, I work at a State Mental Hospital and am taking classes to be a Nurse there. State retirement is good but the working conditions are less than optimal. I have good status there and the need for Nurses is so great that job security is ridiculous. I could transfer to a better hospital eventually or work as a Contract Travel Nurse. Once I am at my current Hospital for 10 years I will be “Vested” and I could leave and come back and keep my time. As it stands, I can retire by age 59.

b.) I am basically a Jr. status English major, switched my major a time or two and took a diverse & vast set of classes as I was attending a small Liberal Arts college. I could probably re-enroll there and graduate with a Liberal Arts degree almost instantaneously. I’ve passed major level English classes, Geography 231 (or 2. I cannot remember), History 101, and 102, Speech 101, Piano I, Art History, (now) Biology 100, 103, & 104, Health & Wellness, Math something, Philosophy something, and at least a few others I cannot remember off the top of my head. And now I will be taking Psych 210 at the college I am enrolled in now for Nursing.

c.) I am a knowledge junkie and if money and retirement were not a factor, I would love to double major in English & Biology (I was an Environmental Studies minor which is now a major at my old school), then decide what I wanted to master and PhD in. I would like to write science literature or research, and Sci-Fi on the side. During my years as a chef, my crew nicknamed me either Shakespeare or “The College Professor” because I would always teach them things I had learned in school or on my own. I had a white board next to my station and I would write things to keep their minds in positive directions rather than fighting or negativity.

d.) I plan on continuing my BA of English and maybe even Biology even after I finish Nursing.

I enjoy athletic recreations like yoga, snowboarding, kayaking, outdoors, hiking. Where I am now, I don’t have snow to snowboard, or waves to surf so 25 years here seems a little bleak.


Last updated January 09, 2024


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.