Things A-Stir O Spring in My New Life

Revised: 01/08/2024 6:50 p.m.

  • Jan. 8, 2024, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Though the weather is still chilly the refreshing feeling of the trees creaking of growth, roots
taking grasp, leaves and thylakoids like a conductor of a symphony readying their batons overtake the landscape not to long ago barren and cold like surface of a lifeless asteroid hurtling through space and time. The students have arrived. I begin my psychology class in the morning. I am ready to throw the winter’s slumber off like a molting bird, a shedding snake or butterfly outgrown his chrysalis. I’ve read ahead my psychology textbook. I am still in Early Adulthood, and will be for 10 or so more years. Though I feel these last two winters have served me harshly, the time of introspection has put some perspective on life. I am adjusting into Middle Adulthood, and prioritizing some perspectives. Though I am still in good shape there are habits that need adjusting and relationships that need sorting through.

(Feedback is welcome).

a.) As it stands, I work at a State Mental Hospital and am taking classes to be a Nurse there. State retirement is good but the working conditions are less than optimal. I have good status there and the need for Nurses is so great that job security is ridiculous. I could transfer to a better hospital eventually or work as a Contract Travel Nurse. Once I am at my current Hospital for 10 years I will be “Vested” and I could leave and come back and keep my time. As it stands, I can retire by age 59.

b.) I am basically a Jr. status English major, switched my major a time or two and took a diverse & vast set of classes as I was attending a small Liberal Arts college. I could probably re-enroll there and graduate with a Liberal Arts degree almost instantaneously. I’ve passed major level English classes, Geography 231 (or 2. I cannot remember), History 101, and 102, Speech 101, Piano I, Art History, (now) Biology 100, 103, & 104, Health & Wellness, Math something, Philosophy something, and at least a few others I cannot remember off the top of my head. And now I will be taking Psych 210 at the college I am enrolled in now for Nursing.

c.) I am a knowledge junkie and if money and retirement were not a factor, I would love to double major in English & Biology (I was an Environmental Studies minor which is now a major at my old school), then decide what I wanted to master and PhD in. I would like to write science literature or research, and Sci-Fi on the side. During my years as a chef, my crew nicknamed me either Shakespeare or “The College Professor” because I would always teach them things I had learned in school or on my own. I had a white board next to my station and I would write things to keep their minds in positive directions rather than fighting or negativity.

Science seems more useful now with Climate Change, The Pandemic, and Bleaching of Coral Reefs though I adore nerding-out on poetry and literature. I took a Nature Literature class for my Environmental Studies minor. I think it was English 231

I enjoy athletic recreations like yoga, snowboarding, kayaking, outdoors, hiking. Where I am now, I don’t have snow to snowboard, or waves to surf so 25 years here seems a little bleak.


Last updated January 08, 2024


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.