Kicked Off in Diary

  • Sept. 14, 2014, 11:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been kicked off the medical trial for having stupid veins. So no money for me.

Apparently we’re supposed to have a canula in each arm for them to take blood samples out of. My right arm has lovely healthy veins and they had no problem getting that one in. But my left arm has stupid deep veins that no one can find. One nurse, three doctors and eight needles digging around, giving me skin as bruised as a soft peach and making me feel really sick, they eventually gave up and sent me home. I asked if they could take it from anywhere else and he just looked at my hand and said there are no good veins in there either. I don’t know what’s wrong with the rest of my body. I have veins everywhere!

I asked if they could just use the one in my right arm and he said they need to take too much blood to only be able to use one site. But when I donate blood, they take a whole pound of the stuff out of one arm and that’s never a problem. I don’t understand!

What I’m annoyed about is that, during the screening sessions, they had to take blood samples. And I said to every person who took one “Please use my right arm. I donate blood and no one can ever find a vein in my left arm so I can only use my right.” And at NO POINT did ANYONE tell me that I would need to have a canula in both arms. At no point did anyone think “Hmmm, maybe we should try the left arm during the screening session, as there’s no point her coming in if we can’t find a vein.” Why the hell not?? I only found out about it this morning after I’d been on the ward for 24 hours.

So that’s 360 miles driven over three separate journeys, one full day medical, two equipment training sessions, blood samples, weeing into a jug for everyone to see over a 12 hour period, 24 hours on a ward, fasting, strict food and drink requirements, two nights of no sleep, rearranged filming plans with Abi and eight wasted needles poked in my arm and it’s all been for nothing because my stupid veins won’t cooperate.

I’m really going to miss that money :o(


puffin September 14, 2014

I think a strongly worded letter is in order!

Cobalt September 14, 2014

That does suck.

~Twinkle~ September 14, 2014

:(

mutedexposure September 14, 2014

I can't believe they didn't find a vein after that many tries. I've seen nurses find the impossible.

Bomb Shell mutedexposure ⋅ September 14, 2014

My veins are really deep in my left arm and no one has EVER been able to find one in my entire life. Which I already told them during the screening and they chose to ignore. With four different people trying, my veins are obviously really elusive. They've also told me I can't do any future trials with them either as they will all have the same requirement :o(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.