First Full Week in In the Meadow

  • Sept. 12, 2014, 1:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The kids are on their last day of the first full week of school. The twins seem to be doing okay in middle school. Open house is next Tuesday at the middle school. I will be able to meet each of their teachers and see what the curriculum is for the year. They have had some graded work, and they have done fairly well on it. I don’t know if that’s because they go easy on them at the beginning of the year. I’m sure they will have some challenges as the school year goes along. Timmy and Kayla seem to be making some friends. They have been talking on the phone with other kids after school. I remember when I was that age talking on the phone with friends was a big thing. Most of the kids don’t seem to have their own cell phone or social media account, and neither one of the twins has asked for those. I guess most of the parents think twelve years old is too young for that.

Aaron is doing okay in fourth grade. The fourth graders have open house the following week. He had some issues with spelling last year. We worked on it over the summer. The teacher sent home a note saying she looked at his work from last year and thought his spelling had really improved. He has always done well in reading, and is getting high grades on his reading comprehension questions. Aaron has been invited to a birthday party tomorrow. The party is at a local fun center.

Today I had a doctor’s appointment. My doctor is on the third floor of a three-story building. After the appointment I took the elevator back downstairs. The doors opened and I realized I had accidentally gotten off on the second floor. A guy got on the elevator as I was getting off. After the doors closed I realized that the up button for the elevator was already pushed. He must have wanted to go up and stepped onto the down elevator instead. I pushed the down button for the elevator. My social anxiety kicked in and I was hoping the other elevator came before the guy rode back up on the other elevator. Fortunately, the other elevator came first and I was spared having to deal with that awkward situation, ha ha.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.