maybe something's working in rants

  • Sept. 12, 2014, 3:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve had diabetes for about 12 years now… My numbers go up and down. Yesterday my morning sugar was at 168. This morning, even though my weight is up, my blood sugar was at 140.

With all I ate, I am not surprised the weight is up, would like it to go down though.


raeven September 12, 2014

Seems like a very good improvement... are you following a specific plan?

Darcy0207 from OD raeven ⋅ September 12, 2014

I watched a couple of programs on PBS in the past few weeks. I am adapting/modifying them for my needs. Trying to stay away (limit?) dairy, wheat, sugar. I am trying to stick with Dr. Fuhrman's guidelines.

I had a 1/2 cantaloupe as a snack. I am a VOLUME eater.

I couldn't finish the salad earlier, so I'll add to it for dinner - then steam it all

raeven Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ September 12, 2014

I'm a volume eater too.. (or at least I used to be before I had to stop eating so many veggies).. While I don't think Fuhrman's program is sustainable or even super healthy long term (I think we need more whole grains and fat than he says) it is a great way to eat.. Dr. Garth Davis (you can find him on facebook) is a bariatric surgeon who is really big on plant based eating with lots of whole grains and veggies/fruits and is really bringing forward a lot of research about whole grains/fruits and all kind of veggies and diabetes. It's all so fascinating.. but I definitely believe that everyone is different and what will work for one, may not for another.

Darcy0207 from OD raeven ⋅ September 12, 2014

Although I am not eating grains right now, I plan to add kasha/
barley/brown rice daily or every other day. I figure, when I get used to the process... and KNOWING I'll have some left overs, I can use them up with a grain base.

I am going to try to experiment with soup tomorrow - white bean, kale, rosemary, lots of onion, canned tomatoes, broth. I have to buy garlic.

I add oil and vinegar to the salad every time, and actually need to buy MORE.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.