september 10 in twenty-eight

  • Sept. 10, 2014, 5:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night I had one of those “oh yeah, THAT’S why I do this” moments with my student at tutoring. We worked on math concepts for over an hour and a half, and when her mom came in to pick her up (we meet at the library), she told me how confident her daughter was becoming with her math class. I said thanks, but that her daughter was very bright and of course she’s the one doing all the work here. But still, it feels nice to know that you’re helping someone learn. I think math is so important in school, especially for girls, and it makes me happy when they really understand it.

Tonight I have another tutoring session with the woman I met with for three hours on Saturday. I’m hoping this session doesn’t last another three hours! We are meeting at six. I’m looking forward to that one being over because she’s more of the “let’s just do enough to pass” type of student. I prefer to work with the students who want to understand the material better, not just get a passing grade. I understand why this woman is just looking to pass…she’s 55 and this is her very last semester for her bachelor’s. But, it doesn’t give me the same enjoyment. It’s just a few extra bucks.

It’s incredibly quiet around PB today. But, I’m used to talk to myself.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.