Meet the kids in Life

  • Sept. 9, 2014, 10:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My traditional back to school entry. I’m ashamed that it’s almost a 6 weeks in. This year is FLYING!
CB - a sweet girl, with some great parents. Always a nice addition!
JB - sigh this girl.... I don’t know. Very …confusing and confused. She’s never with us. I don t know. I hope I can find a way to reach her. We’re starting the paperwork on referring her for special ed assessment. I’m not sure that’s the way to go, but I’m the only one. :(
AB- oh my gosh, I love this kid more every day. She’s sweet, funny, sassy, and sarcastic. Her aunt teaches 6th and I love her, too.
KC- a sweet girl having to deal with her parents very recent divorce. Her sister is dating a former student of mine (a really great guy), so this gives me a connection with her.
JC - a new addition to our classroom, he’s a nephew of one of the 5th grade teachers. He’s great. He’s really smart and has a wonderful personality. He fits in with the others so well. He wants to help and jokes with me like he’s known me forever.
CD - He’s my fairly severe autistic child. I’ve know him for a few years, so we’ve connected, that’s helped me with him. He struggles, though, to function in the room. No surprise, Bitchy J has been bitchy enough to have him removed from her room. (He goes to the resource room for ELA now. >:( )
CD - one of my identical twins. This one is a little stronger and a little more serious. Both are weak, though.
HD - the other twin. He’s very different, a little weaker, more affectionate, and definitely a show man. He serenaded me with the entire song “Ice Ice Baby” the other day, with dance moves. He also cried when I told the class I would be out last week for a meeting.
EF- one of my stronger girls, but very quiet. Her brother came through 4th grade a few years ago. I wasn’t a huge fan of his, he’s a bit of a snob. I don’t think she is, I hope she isn’t.
RG - a very sweet young man. I’m still trying to figure him out.he’s incredibly slow to talk or do things, but seems pretty intelligent. I think there’s definitely some sort of processing issue going on. He’s smart, but struggling.
JH- she’s my brittle diabetic. (During the first week her mom got worried about her and couldn’t wake her. She checked her blood sugar and it was 12. 12!!!!!!! That terrifies me. She’s an only child and her mom, understandably has catered to her. She’s a bit of a diva.
BJ- she’s a chatty little bird. She is also smack dab in the middle of an ugly divorce. I met mom at Open House and she told me dad would be in to pay her fees. She filled out the day 1 page (which was just to tell how they would get home day 1). He came in later (they can’t be around each other). He went to fill out the page and I told him mom had already done so. I had two students add that day and not enough forms, also mom led me to believe it was an amicable split. He asked me to check and when he saw the form she had filled out he took it and tore it up, then filled out his own. I was in shock. He turned in the new one and left without saying a word. Insane!
SK - s is repeating from last year. She had been “home schooled” (meaning sleeping all day and watching tv) before mom decided she needed to come back to school. She comes when she feels like it. We’re 5 weeks in and she’s missed 7 days.
LL - the 6th grade math teacher’s daughter. Mom and daughter both are a little demanding and expect special treatment. That bothers me. She’s not the strongest and very silly.
AM - the brother in my 2nd set of twins. I’ve taught their two oldest brothers. They’re all very sweet, with a very sweet family, just not very strong, and school isn’t really all that important to them. A is the weaker of the two. He’s starting to show his personality and he’s different from his brothers, not as quiet, and a little funnier.
EM- the twin sister and the mom of the pair. She’s a little more serious and very quiet. I’m hoping to pull her out some.
CM - his grandmother works with the resource teacher across the hall, so I’ve known C for a couple of years. I’m glad to say he’s settled down some. He’s not there yet, but he’s getting there.
GP - She’s such a sweet little girl a little on the quiet side, but very sweet. She likes hughs. :)
IP - She’s one of my new students. Mom and dad just got divorced and mom has a baby with her new husband already. I is having a little trouble adjusting. She’s very sweet, though, and funny. I think she’ll fit in well.
MP - He’s a really smart boy who I was worried about. I try not to listen to the other teachers, but they insisted on telling M tales and none were good. He’s been great, though. I’m really enjoying him so far.
SR - Another new student. He was very quiet when I first met him and I worried. He’s come out, though, as a very smart young man. He’s not the most motivated, but he’s very sweet. It helps if the non motivated ones are sweet. You can light that fire and they are usually pretty eager to try.
AS - One of our 1st grade teachers daughters. I’ve known her since I started at the school. She’s sweet and funny. She’s also a little silly. We’ll get her there, though. Her mom is is a good mom, though, and knows her weaknesses and is realistic. That helps when you have a teacher mom.
CS - A sweet boy, but I’m not sure. He seems like he’s got some smarts but he’s VERY immature.
EW - A very sweet young lady. She’s pretty strong and a hard worker. She loves helping others.

That’s my homeroom. Two teacher kids, a teacher’s nephew, a teacher’s niece, a teacher’s grandson. Two sets of twins. 24 kids total - 10 boys and 14 girls. I’m really enjoying them so far. My biggest behavior problem is talking. I can deal with that! :)


EddyOut September 09, 2014

Hey from another teacher. Just saw you on the front page. Sounds like a sweet group. You are 4th grade?

Jigger September 10, 2014

Sounds like a good year shaping up, then!

terriberri September 10, 2014

sounds like you mite have an easier than normal year...even emotionally.

Small Town Girl September 12, 2014

I love these! Wow this seems like a drastic improvement from the hard kids you had last year! Did you ever do an end of the year one for your kids last year?! I think I missed it!

Bella Jess September 14, 2014

See, here they wouldn't put twins in the same class at all. They don't distract one another?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.