100+ MPH in Open Book

  • Sept. 8, 2014, 11:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Life is moving crazy fast…I can’t really keep up (or it feels that way).

Evie and I spent another 3 hours just purging “stuff” today…I cleaned out/updated her entire closet (I have lots to share and will get right on that).

I love cleaning/organizing/purging more than anything (well ok, maybe not more than “anything” but I’m sure it’s my favorite “hobby”).

I sometimes worry what will happen when I run out of shit to purge…Then, I remember life is always throwing more “crap” our way and I’ll never be done purging (whether material or emotional baggage).

A dear fave of mine (thank you B) brought it to my attention I need to be more mindful and keep the “minimalist” perspective when dealing with family/emotional issues…She IS so fucking right.

So right, that I feel stupid for not approaching my Mom with that mindset in the first place. It needs to be done in that way.

I’ve still yet to talk to my Mom on the phone (though if you’re a friend of mine of FB you may have noticed how she is just blowing up my FB).

Of course she hasn’t attempted to call, I think she knows better this time around…I may come around this week, we’ll see. I know I need to deal with this crap and just PURGE it!

If that means having to purge her too, then I guess it is what it is…I just don’t know how the fuck to get through to her…Talking to her is worse than talking to a wall.

Anyway…

Becoming a minimalist AND maintaining the lifestyle is beyond complicated on many levels.

It seems so easy at first…Just throw the shit right in the trash and call it good..

Not so fast though....

For every item you pick up, I’m sure there is some sort of “memory” attached…The reason we as humans have a hard time letting “stuff” go…

However, what we don’t like to acknowledge is that memories can be kept in other ways…Memories are kept in our hearts and in our minds…Also…PICTURES…I think PICTURES are the best way to capture and keep memories…

I have taken pictures of “stuff” which will eventually be put into a very small album (much easier to hang on to) for when I’m old and want something tangible…I don’t think it’s so much the “stuff” we are connected to, but the memory…If we throw out the “thing” or the “stuff” we feel like we are throwing out the memory.

That isn’t true though…It’s the opposite.

We are LIBERATING ourselves which increases mental capacity, which means more room for new memories....

For example…I had this purse my Aunt bought me (I think I’ve used this example in the past)…I didn’t use it for long (it was expensive and just not my style) but didn’t want to purge it because when she gave it to me she said she bought it for me because it made her think of me and that made me feel “loved.”

So I finally just took a picture of it before it was donated…It will go in my “random stuff and memories book” someday.

I am taking pictures and will make super short captions such as “Aunt DeeDee bought me this purse because when she saw it she thought of me. I used the purse for a while, and now someone else gets to use it and enjoy it.”

I will still have my “things” in a much more manageable space.

I got rid of so much today and it’s like the best “high” ever (ok maybe not better than cocaine, but pretty damn close)…Oh and no hate notes, it’s been 6 years since I’ve done coke…Just saying…

Minimalist living is fucking addicting and EUPHORIC.


Last updated September 08, 2014


Deleted user September 09, 2014

I really need to purge. I am big on keeping things because of memories. I have attachment issues though.... Like my mom threw out this band poster that was signed by the members... and I had it up in my room since day one. I looked at it every day and remembered how excited and happy I was (I was never happy when I was a teen) when I got to meet them. Then she said she threw it away when I moved to Maryland and I think I spent 3 days crying because "I would never see it again." I think I will try to let some things go and just remember to breathe while doing so.

Also... That was a lot of usage of the fuck word. I laughed a ton xD

~Mrs. O~ Deleted user ⋅ September 09, 2014

Sorry about the language, this is my space to use profanity (I do my very best to refrain in real life, mostly because I don't want Evie repeating it).

I can't help it, I LOVE to swear haha.

Small Town Girl September 09, 2014

A lady I sued to baby sit for years ago, would take pictures off her kid's school art work. Save the picture, throw the art. Less clutter. Always have the pic to remember and to take up less space.

dickson. September 09, 2014

GAWD, my purging starts ASAP since we are moving right away. I CANNOT WAIT. But it sounds hard and stressful :( :(

kansasgirl September 09, 2014

That's a really good idea about the pictures! I've been working on purging as well. Went through the Master closet, linen closet, and bathroom cabinets and got rid of ALL THE STUFF. Now to repeat the process for the rest of the house. It's so liberating. My one issue with pictures is that I always forget to actually print them. I'm trying to work on getting some pictures printed from the past 5 years so I can actually get some stuff hung up.

~jillybean~ September 09, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.