Ben's toes and helping others in My this and that

  • Sept. 8, 2014, 12:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I am so thankful for the hospital we visited this weekend.

So last week we had learned that Ben would be able to see the surgeon here in the city this Thursday, two full weeks after breaking his toes. That sounded a little ridiculous, along with the fact that the surgeon was a plastic surgeon, which is just odd.

Someone suggested we head out of town to a different hospital. They had three orthopaedic surgeons on staff, and we may have a better chance of getting in to see one sooner. So I took Friday off work and off we went to this other hospital. We got there at about 8:00 a.m., and we had spoken to an orthopaedic surgeon by 10:00 a.m. Ben was taken down for surgery around 1:00 p.m. and done surgery by 4:00 p.m. The staff was SO helpful and actually seemed like they wanted to talk to us, and not like they had other things to do.

They even gave us a print out of one of the xrays, and even I could see how badly his foot needed surgery. Two of his toes were completely broken, with soft tissue in between the bone break… so basically on the xray the looked severed, even though the skin on his foot wasn’t actually broken.

He now has pins in three toes. They had to open to toes to insert the pins, so he has staples in his big toe and stitches in his third toe.

He spent one night in the hospital on intravenous antibiotics, and was out exactly 12 hours after they had taken him away to start the surgery. We just feel so blessed, and so glad that we don’t have to wait any longer and now he can just heal.

God is good!

The day Ben broke his toes I had an opportunity to help someone. I was rushing home to get the car so I could meet him at whatever hospital they decided to take him. This one gentleman started talking to me as I rushed by him, telling me he hadn’t eaten in over two days. I was really tempted to say “sorry” and keep walking, but God spoke to my heart. There was a Tim Horton’s right nearby, so I bought the man a sandwich combo there and was able to pray with him.

This morning on my walk to work a man was walking the opposite direction towards me on the bridge when he collapsed. Another lady and a man both stopped as well and we stayed with the man until the paramedics came. His name is Craig. If everyone reading this could please pray for him. I think he’s pretty hard off, he seemed like he may not have a home but that’s just an assumption. He was one of the thinnest people I’ve ever seen, and he had throw-up in his beard. He was having a very hard time breathing, so I think that’s why he collapsed.

God is good, and he brings us opportunities to help others when we look for them.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.