september 5 in twenty-eight

  • Sept. 5, 2014, 8:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In case yesterday’s entry didn’t make sense mathematically, I take home 60% of my current tutoring rate. After I reach ten hours through the site, that will increase to 65%, then after 50 hours it will increase again to 70%, then 75% after 200, then 80% after 400. And if I recommend a lot of students to the site (I won’t, why would I? It’s better for me to give them a discount and keep 100% of the rate, everyone wins), I could up that to 85%.

I’ve already pocketed over $100 and I had my first session last Tuesday. So if anyone is thinking about picking up a part time gig, I have found it very easy to use the site and I haven’t had to really work at finding students. And the weird part is that my rate is higher than a lot of other people on that site. I mostly did that because I make a certain salary and my time is worth something to me, but I also did it because I was hoping to only have a few people to tutor now and then. I’m not sure if that’s working as well as I hoped, but we’ll see.

Right now I’m saving 1/3 of every paycheck I get (oh, that’s the other nice thing about the site…not only do they handle billing for me, but I get paid less than a week after each session and it’s direct deposited into my account. No gimmicks, etc.), setting aside another 1/3 for tax time, and using the remaining 1/3 on debt (which I HATE that I have right now, but I’m working on getting rid of it again). Maybe I’ll just use 2/3 on debt until I have it taken care of, though.

I’m so glad it’s Friday. I’m not really feeling 100% yet and who doesn’t look forward to a weekend?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.