In Which Our Hero Tramples Cynicism and Embraces a Good Death(Left intentionally Incomplete.) in Good Morning Providence.

  • Sept. 4, 2014, 5:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In two months and sixteen days I will be thirty. Ever bemoaned and ever the inexhaustible wellspring of existential anxiety, I am now at the mercy of a progression at the end of which is a benchmark, where so much is expected, but compared to some, the sum will disappoint. The way I envisioned myself at the outset of my twenties is a stark departure from the portrait I envisioned: an independent man with an attractive wife, perhaps child, a career as a psychologist/scientist/actor/author (and even then I was indecisive), satisfied with my talents as an illustrator and musician. And I recall the details of my twentieth frankly: A slightly overweight, second-year community college student, half- blinding emo hairdo tucked under a cylindrical paper hat, pimple pricked, slouching everywhere I stepped. A well-wishing co-worker approached me looking troubled roughly an hour before my lunch break, inquiring about the source of the apparent gloom in my expression, as I stood hunched over the cash register. (While her name eludes me, I recall holding nothing but meaningful conversations with her.) “___I’m twenty today.” “Oh, that’s great! Why do you look so upset?” “Well, I feel as if I’ve done very little with my life at this point.” “Dude, you’re still young. Why are you so worried?”
While I don’t quite recall my response, I could only assume it matched my hairdo and tastes in music at that juncture.
At that point, my ambitions were quite clear: Avoid the military by any means necessary, get into UCSC majoring in Psychology, lose baby fat, have a pretty girlfriend, learn guitar, earn black belt in Aikido, and become self-sufficient. Some were more accessible than others.
Ten years later, degree in hand, healthier, prettier, and smarter, but somehow, less decisive as to how my future is supposed to look. Fuck-ups in Washington and on Wall Street aside, tossing me into the worst of all possible economic realities post-graduation, and not a profitable landing pad upon which to ponder the bigger questions, while taking care of myself, I found myself in progressively lavish iterations of my parents’ house, my mother exercising stock options, and nesting.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.