Doctor, Are You Better With Emotions? in General Randomness

  • Sept. 4, 2014, 3:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you don’t watch Doctor Who You probably won’t get this entry!
So the Doctor has two enemies that have removed their emotions, the Cybermen and the Daleks. Both constantly question the Doctor about if he really feels that he is better off having emotion, mostly they do this while killing someone the Doctor cares about. “Hey, t here, I just murdered your best friend, if you had no emotions like me you wouldn’t feel bad about it. Just sayin’.”
I’ve been thinking about this tonight, are we really better off having emotions. I mean, yes, the good emotions are good but the bad emotions are really a problem. But is it really worth having the good ones if we also have to deal with the bad ones? And how often do the good ones come as a result of bad ones.
Happiness, for example, often comes after pain. Recently my cat disappeared. I was sure he was dead. And then he just walked through the door as if he hadn’t been gone. I would gladly have given up the extreme happiness of his return in exchange for him not leaving at all and thus not making me sad.
Love is another great emotion but what about hate? Or even worse–unrequited love, one sided love where you would do anything for them but they don’t even know you exist.
Which is actually the point of this entry, very long, roundabout way of getting to it.
Unrequited Love
What a horrible, horrible thing. If you’ve never had count yourself VERY lucky.
I met a woman who is unlike anyone I’ve ever experienced. She is wonderful! Well, after spending time with her, in social settings with friends, for a few month I asked her out, but as it turns out she already had a boyfriend. Oh I tried ever so hard to forget about her. And then one day she broke up with this boyfriend. I thought, “Maybe now I’ll have a chance” but no, she just plain isn’t interested in me. So I start all over again trying to get over her. But how do you get over someone when they keep invading your dreams? Or when they are where you have to be so you’re constantly hanging out with them? Or when you’re not expecting to see them but they just pop by where you’re at, dressed fantastic?
I was really starting to make progress, or so I thought, when out of the blue I had a dream about her. I usually see her Tuesday nights at church so that wasn’t a surprise but I haven’t seen her on a Wednesday in months and all of a sudden she shows up in this incredible red dress…and she didn’t even stay for the service. I know she’s not doing it on purpose. She probably doesn’t even realize that I still fancy her.
This would all be so much easier if I wasn’t a slave to my emotions! Not that I want to be a Cyberman or a Dalek.


Mercurial Muse September 04, 2014

I think the fact that the Daleks and Cybermen are so often portrayed as enemies of the Doctor and humanity that says something about the importance of emotions. The doctor is willing to save humans over and over again because of the capacity of our emotions and the wonderful things we can do and achieve because of it.

I don't know if you watched the latest episode "Into the Dalek" so I don't want to give anything away, but that episode really does seem to believe that emotions and our capacity to feel beauty is very important.

Spiritsfire Mercurial Muse ⋅ September 04, 2014

That was an awesome episode.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.