Addiction....Mine in QUOTIDIEN

  • Sept. 4, 2014, 12:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve talked about it here, before, and I’m afraid I’m back at it, again.

Experiencing a need for the intimacy of casual touch....,and maybe even not so casual.

I am reminded of the days following my daughter’s premature birth (10 weeks) where we were not permitted to do anything but see her through the glass of her incubator. The need to touch her, to feel her skin against my own, to gently rub my cheek against her head was a very real, physical need. The ache was indescribable. It shrank my lungs to the point I couldn’t breathe right. My shoulders rounded to protect the infant I couldn’t hold. All of these physical needs were just as real as the swollen breasts that dripped incessantly with their own need to provide for her. The pain was all-encompassing!

Sunday, I celebrated my 52nd birthday - another first. Though we never had HUGE celebrations, and gifts weren’t a large part of our lives, I could count in a snuggle, a hug, a kiss.

I feel pathetic for admitting that I need this, and yet, I do. I need the connection. I need the care. I......I need, dammit! I SO need


HarleyBabe September 04, 2014

I must be the only person in the world that could survive and thrive left all alone forever. Strange, I know. I am compassionate and loving, but if I was totally alone for the rest of my life I'd be okay with that, and in fact I often prefer it. Good luck to you.

Dancing Queen September 04, 2014

I'm self-professed affection monster. To a certain extent u think I understand these needs.

Overachiever September 05, 2014

{{hugs}}

Deleted user November 17, 2014

You are a healthy woman . To need is normal .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.