Tits UP ! in The Common Room

  • Sept. 3, 2014, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Markers of recovery are sometimes a little odd. One would like to celebrate the return of normalacy, but …

A couple of weeks ago, I rejoined the majority of western women in a little custom I have long cursed – the wearing of a “bra.”

When my skin lost integrity to the swelling, long, thin splits occurred. They were nearly invisible at first; not deep enough to bleed, they wept inter-cellular fluid. – and, oh my, did they sting. Of course one wishes to be clean, but keeping away infection (especially in hospital) was an exercise for fanatics – luckily I can sometimes be so described .

Now, I am not one of those well endowed women, but I am of an age and everything went sharply south some years ago. Levering the forestructure upward, as fashion dictates, required no mean feat of engineering and no small amount of endurance on a good day. Once the splits happened, of course, all bets were off. Couldn’t have anything sawing across there. so – they hung down. (Humming a chorus of “Do your ears hang low, do they wobble to and fro”)

I’m not very body conscious and I don’t go anywhere but doctors’ offices and I’ve had all that oxygen paraphernalia draped across my face and chest, so-io-o-o I’ve just made sure the blouse had a little bulk and a gather or two and I doubt anyone could tell the difference, my being, as I said, of an age.

One problem, my shoulders ached, my back ached, my neck ached. . (“Can you tie them in a knot? Can you tie them in a bow?”) After all those years of having things cinched up, gravity was doing a real number on my spine. .... and I sweat Oh boy did I sweat.

Well, the skin eventually toughened a little and the slits healed and the day came when I stood a chance of hoisting the ramparts– except that the bras I had did not fit any longer. I slopped around in them like a mouse in a beer barrel and they seemed to be made of canvas, tightly stretched over barbed wire.

Off to a ladies wear store for new bras. Sounds simple. Did I forget to remind you that daughters are out of country and I no longer drive? That means Husband (native born Texan, with all attendant psychoses) is transport – to a ladies store– to buy bras –

I will draw the veil gently over the first four atttempts - all in a very popular shopping center in the larger of the suburbs. Vision Husband, looking blank, pouring out his life story to the nearest clerk (because that’s what he does) while I wander, bewildered, through fantasy land. One store bragged that they had over 10,000 bras. (I believe them). Amazingly, every one of them was exactly alike - multitudes of colours and fabrics and trims, but just the same - thickly padded and underwired. {“Can you throw them o’er your shoulder like a continental soldier?)

After a couple of hours, which is longer than I’m usually out, I washed up upon the shores of a quiet little shop. I explained to a quiet young woman, that I needed something minimal and soft. She only had one style, too. However, it was just the thing; all loose and soft. One size sort of fit. Good enough. I bought the two she had, wearing one out of the shop.

All’s well that ends well, riight? Uh-huh. Guess what? If you’ve spent seven and a half months with your bossoms flirting with you navel— and you suddenly hoist them up – THEY STICK OUT IN THE WAY!

How am I supposed to see my feet? How can I move my arms? Why are these things wallowing around and jouncing like that. What if one breaks free and flys out to poke me in the eye?

Why don’t breasts just disappear when you’re through with them? Evolution’s making a big mistake here.

Sigh

(Do your ears hand low”)


Last updated September 03, 2014


woman in the moon September 03, 2014

I have a sort of lopsided effect. I'm over being self conscious.

Glad you're feeling better, glad you're getting out in the world. You with you striking profile.

Deleted user September 03, 2014

Haha, you're hilarious! Doing push-ups as long as I have has helped keep me from heading south as much as I would've by now. Also, regular bras suck. I wear nothing but sports bras. They give me better support without the damn straps slipping off my shoulders.

Deleted user September 03, 2014

This is pretty funny, good on you for taking something slightly negative and approaching it with good humour x

MageB September 04, 2014

You are so funny. I so understand.

After a braless life since 1966, I am now forced to wear one. Now my tummy seems larger and my breasts seem smaller. LOL

Everything Good Rebecca September 04, 2014

Your storytelling is still there and this was wonderful, all the way through! Honestly, I felt I could see the stores, your husband, the clerks, etc. And all with that soung in my head (thank you very much for that!). I'm glad your health is improving and yes, signs are there despite the discomfort!

Eriu September 05, 2014

Mine have changed, too, and I've said often that I wish I could just tie them in a knot and throw them over my shoulder. One of my cousins and I were going to a movie; I told him we had to leave earlier than usual because I needed to get a new bra. That was years ago and he still whines!

Ragdolls September 05, 2014

Love your humor! This is something I can relate to!

I'm an Okking Fool September 07, 2014

Too funny! I am so glad to read that you're feeling better :)

ODSago October 17, 2014

So with you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.