change of address in rants

  • Sept. 3, 2014, 4:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since I come to San Diego every three months or so… for three weeks… there’s LOTS of year left when I am not available to pick up my mail.

A neighbor has been taking care of this chore for me for many years - at least 6. I had a bit of a run-in with her when I first arrived this trip. I spoke with her twice by phone, she called once just to ask if her granddaughter could use my parking spot - of course, she can.

On a regular visit, we get together a handful of times - go to buffet, talk for two to three hours… repeat. I haven’t seen her at all this trip.

It might be what we conflicted about… or that her health is more precarious (and she’s not up for socializing/eating). Whatever, I haven’t heard from her.

So, I finally broke down and bought a P.O. box. WOW! They are expensive - over $200 for the year. Now, although I still have the mailbox at the building - all it will receive is advertisements and junk … and my late mother’s mail.

I hate to impose on anyone for anything, so this is a weight off me. Now I have to contact the places I receive mail from - the bills, actually - tell them the new address, and I am clear.


Nicko the famous September 03, 2014

Those boxes must be expensive everywhere. When I had one I think it cost me like $260 for the year. It was handy though, as I used to move house all the time.

I hope it's nothing bad with the friend. Will you call her?

Darcy0207 from OD Nicko the famous ⋅ September 03, 2014

I don't think I'll call. I was horrified at some of her ideas/beliefs when she'd shared them with me. I had some gifts for her - I'll leave them in the box where she puts the collected mail - she'll find them.

I'll still send her the greeting cards - I hand make them for holidays - and leave it at that.

MemoryFails September 03, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.