New Job Description in my Future? in QUOTIDIEN

  • Sept. 1, 2014, 9:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A couple of weeks ago, the account manager fired my son (who works for the same company I work for). Before long, rumor had it that she was concerned that I would be upset.

Once off work that Tuesday, I called her to reassure her that I understood the need to fire an officer who was insubordinate and refused to drop a U.A.

While I had her on the phone, I decided to broach the subject of my job description. I confess to you, my job has become increasingly boring. So much so that I couldn’t ever see the end of the day. Twelve hours of such deep boredom, I could feel my brain cells melt.

‘Please take a moment to look at my resume. I have so much to offer, and it’s being wasted. People who make millions of dollars a year stop at my desk on a regular basis, and they come in to find an intelligent, put together officer doing nothing. Is this truly the face of the company you want to put forward?’

So, she went to check out my application, and called me back asking if I’d be interested in putting together a newsletter for the account. Right up my alley.

I put together some article ideas - and presented them to her and the district manager. He loved ALL my ideas. She was reticent on most, and had some reason why this or that wouldn’t work.

They asked for a layout, which I promised them I would have tomorrow - then complete it, and emailed it to them both last Friday…complete with a recommended article for the ‘White Glove Customer Service’ portion.

White Glove Customer Service…

…Begins With and Depends on
Attitude
As an __ ___employee, you’ve either completed the White Glove Customer Service (WGCS) training through _, or you’re about to, because you are prepared to do what it takes to satisfy your employer’s demands, and needs. That is a highly prized, and commendable attitude!
Unfortunately, as we settle into our respective posts we sometimes find that the ‘commendable’ starts to slip away, leaving little more than an attitude and/or complacency which leaves much to be desired. We know we’ve reached that point when the countdown until the end of our shift begins at approximately the same moment our alarms wake us in the morning. Been there, done that? It makes for long shifts, long weeks, and encourages a cancerous growth of poor work ethic and apathy.
Fortunately, this isn’t a hopeless condition! As humans, we have this amazing power to choose, not only how we act, but also how we react to our environment. It truly is as simple as that. Down times are boring? Change a position. Do something new! Clients seem unresponsive or unfriendly? Turn up the volume of a positive attitude. Stand when an employee or guest approaches; smile up into your eyes; make an effort to learn their names; reach out beyond yourself to meet the needs of your client—as if your job depended on it.
As you work your way through WGCS training, please take your time, keep careful notes, and envision what implementing that training would look like on you! Use it, and those talents HR saw in you, to OWN your job, and you’ll shorten those seemingly endless days. You can, within the confines of your post orders, define your position, and the value of what it is that you do, to both the internal and external client!
Let us encourage you to make use of Allied Barton’s ‘White Glove Customer Service’ training resources to carry you beyond the simple fulfillment of a requirement, and on to sculpting who you are now into the professional, and productive person of your future!


hot-lips September 03, 2014

There's nothing worse than being bored at work! What do you do btw? That's a shame about your son being fired, I'm assuming he did something wrong? I hope the newsletter goes well!

Deleted user November 16, 2014

You have to wonder why she was so reticent about your ideas .. Wonder if she felt threatened , realizing your potential. Sorry about your son.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.