School in Life

  • Sept. 1, 2014, 8:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to come in and write an entry. :( I come in often to read y’all, I just don’t write. (Ok, so I know that part of it is, that to write I have to come in here to the dinosaur desktop and I just don’t do that.) Anyway, just to update y’all on school, it’s going really well, so far. In fact, I’m a little nervous at how good it is going. :D I’ll do my normal intro entry in a day or so, this is just a general entry.
We have no problem kids like we’ve had in the past. That said, they’re not Angels, they’re just kids. Chatty, a little lazy, and thoroughly sweet kids. We do have two that stand out. One is Tina. She’s in a walker. I’m not sure her exact condition, I know part of it is chromosomal. She had a child specific aide who is driving all 3 of us crazy. Tina doesn’t do much on her own, but we don’t know if she can’t or if the aide just won’t let her. I could rant for a couple of days about that. The child has no chance at learning to trust herself if she’s never allowed to be challenged.
We also have Dale. He’s in my homeroom. He’s fairly significantly autistic. It’s a challenge. He has outbursts, gets angry very easily, and frustrated often. In the past he’s hit, kicked, and turned over 100+ lb tables. I’m feeling my way with him. He loves me. The sped room is across the hall from me, so I would see him often in past years and would always talk to him. So apparently he told his parents that he was only going to be in my room this year, not the other two. lol It doesn’t work that way. He’s had a few meltdowns in their rooms which end with him in the hall screaming and kicking doors. It could be an interesting year with him.
I’m dealing with letting my shoulder heal again. I needed to clean up the lab and asked my principal a couple of questions about things in there. She posted for others who used the lab to come help. The 5th grade science teacher said she would come help, but she showed up an hour and a half after I started. (I was through by then.) There were 7 or 8 old computer monitors in there and no one seemed to know what to do with them, so I hauled them all in the hall. All were heavy, some older and heavier than others. One was huge and when I picked it up, it tipped forward and I felt my shoulder go. It’s the worst I’ve hurt it in a while. I missed my best friend’s son’s wedding because of it. Last night was the first night I’ve been able to sleep on my stomach again. It’s still subluxing some, but not as much. I’m getting frustrated with it, which means I use it more than I should. So, I have no one to blame but myself. (I should admit, I was frustrated that one offered to help. When I packed the first two out there was a group of teachers standing there talking. Not one asked what I was doing or offered to help.) When the 5th grade teacher showed up I told her I was done and that if she had trouble finding anything, just ask. No one came to help, so I made decisions myself on stuff left in there.
Wow, all that sounds negative. It’s really not this year. The kids are amazing. Bitchy J is still bitchy J, but I deal with it. I enjoyed my 3 day weekend, and I’m ready to go back. I miss my kids. :) It feels good to say that and mean it.


Jigger September 02, 2014

Glad you got a good start, but sorry about the pain and lack of anyone willing to take responsibility. I can't wait until I can go back to belly-sleeping, too. Maybe another week? I hope?

terriberri September 02, 2014

that class of kids is so blessed to have you. knowing you how i do already, i know this year will make a difference in their lives, just because you are there with them everyday.

Small Town Girl September 03, 2014

How awesome! Glad it is starting our so great! You are in for a great year! Wish they would fire bitchy J

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.