Expensive? in Diary

  • Sept. 1, 2014, 1:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just spent 40 minutes carefully drafting a reply to a potential customer. His uncle is disabled and his dog is currently in kennels but they want to get him back home so need someone to help him look after the dog. My price for one hour is the same as a full day in the (very cheap) kennel he’s in and he said “It needs to be cheaper than the kennel otherwise there’s no point taking him out.”

Never mind the dog will be getting one to one attention from me which he won’t get in the kennel, he’ll be much happier at home, and I have to take my travel time and costs into account. It’s a 40 minute round trip for me, which I won’t be getting paid for, and I’m a cheaper than all other pet sitters in my areas.

sigh

I hope this isn’t going to be a regular thing, he seems to be forgetting that this is my entire job and hasn’t realised what my hourly take home pay would be. It’s completely different from a kennel; if they’re charging £10 for 24 hours, that works out as 41p per hour; is he expecting to pay that for a home visit?

Already learning so much about people’s perceptions of value :o(

edit We had a long conversation and I pointed out the differences/ positives and he eventually agreed to take me up without cutting my prices. So yay, new customer! It’s going to be daily visits for the forseeable future so that’s a big boost :o)


Last updated September 01, 2014


Camdengirl September 01, 2014

It's a toughy but then if the kennel is so great, why are they looking into using you? It's two completely different services. Bit like comparing a personal chef to a takeaway...

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ September 01, 2014

That's exactly what I was thinking, the chef to takeaway thing. But with a drive through car wash compared to a full valet.

They just want to get the dog out of the kennel and back home with his owner where he belongs.

Anyway, I pointed out all the advantages and he's agreed to use me so yay, new customer! :o)

history of love September 01, 2014

I think all you can do is push the positives of employing you (& if it doesn't work, leave your info for the uncle). As the above noter mentioned, you don't want to undercut yourself as it might mean you are stuck with those fees.

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ September 01, 2014

We had a long conversation and I pointed out the differences/ positives and he eventually agreed to take me up without cutting my prices. So yay, new customer! :o)

Deleted user September 01, 2014

Thats great! Its always nice to take the time to let the customer see how it is in your view. You are trying to start a business and you cant cut your hourly pay because they demand it! Good job :)

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ September 02, 2014

I know, I think he wanted a discount but if I cut it any more, I would only just be breaking even so there would be no point me doing it! I'm glad I spent the time drafting a careful reply :o)

~Twinkle~ September 01, 2014

Great news he has agreed to pay your fee xx

wintergrey September 02, 2014

Glad you got the work without dropping your prices! Don't sell yourself cheap! I find if you charge a price you are happy with, it is a good deal all round. The people that argue about the price are the people you don't want to deal with. Take care,

Bomb Shell wintergrey ⋅ September 02, 2014

Thanks! At the moment I'm torn between taking anything I can get as it's a new business, and not wanting to be stuck with cheap long term customers. It's a fine line :-/

Lucretia Bomb Shell ⋅ September 06, 2014

If you're trying to get new customers you could try an introductory rate? That way you're cheap for now but people know that your prices will go up in a couple of months?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.