*Edit: Literal or Autistic? in SOUNDING BOARD

  • Dec. 19, 2023, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A solution!

After spending a few hours hemming and hawing, I xed out of the survey completely and decided to give it some time. If I’m spending that long and feeling that unsure about sending feedback, maybe the feedback isn’t something I need to be putting down in writing.

So ultimately, I decided I’m going to provide feedback on the event itself (we had no sound for most of it, and those of us who were forced to attend virtually got NONE of the perks that in-person OR planned virtual attendees got, which is really unfair).

As for the casual misogyny, I’m supposed to set up a standing meeting with our HR director, just because we enjoy chatting and he’s kind of an unofficial mentor to me. So I decided he and that meeting would be a more appropriate context to bring up my concerns about what was said. Specifically, my concern that our principal attorneys don’t need to be goading their employees on stage. In that moment, you are not the funcle, you’re the boss… context matters!

Thanks for weighing in, y’all!


The email says “in the spirit of continuous improvement, tell us what you thought” and then asks basically the same question in a few different ways. What I’m not sure about is this: the email says they want our feedback so they can improve. And up until this moment, I’m the person who usually gives honest feedback because I want them to improve too! But I’m getting wiser and starting to think maybe this is one of those times where the allistics say they want honest feedback but really they don’t. I’ve spent a bunch of time trying to answer the questions in kind/professional ways, and I’m worried I’ve been wasting my own time.

There were other moments too that just came off as “old school”, which is really just a euphemism for misogyny.

So: do I say all this in my feedback form? OR am I risking getting fired for calling out the company owners for being sexist aholes on stage? like… i can’t tell anymore what the right thing to do is.


Last updated December 20, 2023


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.